Diablo® III

PS3 Multiplayer infinite loading problem

Same problem. Never encountered it before the patch, now it happens all the time.
Reply Quote
Attention Blizzard!!! Everyone is having this same issue (will mostly everyone including me). It is not our routers, I repeat it is NOT OUR ROUTERS!!! This never happened until the latest update. There is something in the patch that is not letting us join any games online. Single player in fine, but I want to go online. If I have to delete all my data and start over then I mind as well not play anymore and want a full refund back. Its been days now and still no fix yet.
Reply Quote
ya this is ridiculous
Reply Quote
If it works when you plug the PS3 directly into the internet connection, then the problem IS in the router. Some cheap routers simply can't handle peer to peer multiplayer gaming. Most, but not all PS3 gaming is actually Peer to Peer with PS3's connecting to each other directly. That also means if your upload speed is slow, you can have issues, especially with voice chat.

As for ports, there are the ones I have forwarded. To use port forwarding you MUST use Static IP's and in fact PSN tends to work better when you do.

Ports: 3478, 3479, 3658, 5223

That's the only ones I have forwarded and PSN has always worked well for me.

Another thing of note, turn on UPnP in your router if it isn't on. PSN works better with it on. Your NAT type should show as "2" in your PS3's Network connection Status thing. If it's 3, your ports aren't being forwarded.
Reply Quote
10/07/2013 11:23 AMPosted by CronoCloud
If it works when you plug the PS3 directly into the internet connection, then the problem IS in the router
Reply Quote
Posts: 7
Well maybe you tech experts here (because apparently those of us who are actually experiencing and troubleshooting the issue and not being keyboard commandos have no idea what we're doing) can explain to us why every single other game we play works perfectly fine with our routers connected?
Reply Quote
10/07/2013 01:39 PMPosted by SCfinalvirus
can explain to us why every single other game we play works perfectly fine with our routers connected?


Possible that Blizzard's patch is now using a port that it wasn't using previously, one that is being blocked by a router.

My suggestion, check your router to see if it logs any blocks and/or things of the like. If it does get your PS3 Mac/IP address and check and see if anything in there is getting blocked. If your router send info to a Syslog server then try setting that up so we can see what info your router is processing.

The bottom line is if it is working without the router and is not working with then the router should be the troubleshooting focus. I am not saying the fault is the router but that is where you should focus. #1 culprit is blocked communication.

The downside is most routers used at home won't properly log this type of thing so we won't see much info or details as to the cause here.
Reply Quote
Maybe we can start with listing router make/model to see if there is a similarity? At the very least we can see if someone else has the same router that is working so we can compare settings/firmware/etc.

I'll start!

Router: Asus RT-N56U
ISP: Comcast
Status: Multiplayer Working Fine
Reply Quote
Quality Assurance
Posts: 560
10/07/2013 01:55 PMPosted by Audial
Maybe we can start with listing router make/model to see if there is a similarity? At the very least we can see if someone else has the same router that is working so we can compare settings/firmware/etc.


I am quoting this great suggestion to add visibility.

Please feel free to reply to this thread with the following information:

Router Model:
Internet Service Provider:
Status (Can or Cannot Play Multiplayer):
Additional Information*:

*For Additional Information feel free to mention any specifics you'd like. If your issue is sporadic or you only have problems joining specific types of games or specific friends' games, elaborate on that in Additional Information. Also feel free to include info like firmware version in this section.
Edited by Tsarnis on 10/7/2013 5:40 PM PDT
Reply Quote
Router: Belkin Nk92v1
ISP: Comporium
Status: Cannot play Multiplayer

i cannot join on anyone at all and noone can join on me..it puts me in there party they see me join, maybe 10 seconds later it tells them i left the party and on my screen it says press start to join and stays in main menu. Upper right hand corner who evers party i joined their name begins to flash.
Reply Quote
Posts: 7
10/07/2013 01:48 PMPosted by Audial
My suggestion, check your router to see if it logs any blocks and/or things of the like. If it does get your PS3 Mac/IP address and check and see if anything in there is getting blocked. If your router send info to a Syslog server then try setting that up so we can see what info your router is processing.


I'll check out my logs and post results when I'm able, thanks for this suggestion =) And as for router info

Router Model: Belkin F9K1001
Internet Service Provider: Comcast
Status: No multiplayer
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Paladin
5030
Posts: 2
my assumption is that the issue lies with Sony. I own a ps3 and an Xbox and I have had this problem with multiple games (for example: nba 2k12 had an issue just like this). There was no solution to the problem with that game either, but the Xbox version had no known problems with it. It's extremely annoying because I want to show random people Whimsyshire, but I can't.
Reply Quote
10/07/2013 06:16 PMPosted by Deciple
Router: Belkin Nk92v1

I cannot find this router anywhere...

10/08/2013 04:23 AMPosted by SCfinalvirus
Router Model: Belkin F9K1001

Try the following:
-A few people on various forums mention UPnP doesn't work properly depending on the model and firmware you have. Confirm your model for this router has the latest firmware. Make sure you select the correct version:
http://www.belkin.com/au/support-article?rnId=6257

-Go through and test the internet connection on the PS3 again. See if the NAT Type, illustrated in the very last picture shows Type 2 or Type 3:
http://www.belkin.com/us/support-article?rnId=9576

-Ensure UPnP is enabled on your router:
http://www.belkin.com/us/support-article?rnId=8563

-Lastly, check the logs. I cannot find any info on logging on this device so I won't be much help here.
Edited by Audial#1645 on 10/8/2013 8:05 AM PDT
Reply Quote
3 Worgen Warrior
0
Posts: 2
Router Model:belkin f9k1001v1
Internet Service Provider:Charter
Status (Can or Cannot Play Multiplayer):cannot
Additional Information*:same all the rest i could play fine before update soon as i DLd the update i could not join or be joined by any one
Reply Quote
3 Worgen Warrior
0
Posts: 2
this is what i have in my log on my router

System log:
Jan/1/2000 00:00:03 WAN DHCP client send DHCP Discover
Jan/1/2000 00:00:03 join multicast group 239.255.255.250
Jan/1/2000 00:00:03 join multicast group 224.0.0.252
Jan/1/2000 00:00:03 WAN DHCP client send DHCP Release
Jan/1/2000 00:00:03 WAN DHCP client send DHCP Discover
Jan/1/2000 00:00:03 WAN DHCP client receive DHCP Offer
Jan/1/2000 00:00:03 WAN DHCP client send DHCP Request
Jan/1/2000 00:00:03 WAN DHCP client receive DHCP Ack
Jan/1/2000 00:00:04 WAN DHCP client get IP 71.12.72.40
Jan/1/2000 00:00:10 90:e6:ba:a4:7a:ab(Computer) get IP 192.168.2.2
Oct/8/2013 06:08:59 00:24:8d:ba:18:23(Host1) get IP 192.168.2.3
Oct/8/2013 06:10:33 00:24:8d:ba:18:23(Host1) release IP 192.168.2.3
Oct/8/2013 06:12:03 00:24:8d:ba:18:23(Host2) get IP 192.168.2.3
Oct/8/2013 06:12:04 00:24:8d:ba:18:23(Host2) release IP 192.168.2.3
Oct/8/2013 06:12:16 00:24:8d:ba:18:23(Host3) get IP 192.168.2.3
Oct/8/2013 06:12:49 00:24:8d:ba:18:23(Host3) release IP 192.168.2.3
Oct/8/2013 06:13:44 00:24:8d:ba:18:23(Host4) get IP 192.168.2.3
Oct/8/2013 06:14:23 00:24:8d:ba:18:23(Host4) release IP 192.168.2.3
Oct/8/2013 06:14:28 00:24:8d:ba:18:23(Host5) get IP 192.168.2.3
Oct/8/2013 06:38:19 00:24:8d:ba:18:23(Host5) release IP 192.168.2.3
Oct/8/2013 06:43:52 00:24:8d:ba:18:23(Host6) get IP 192.168.2.3
Oct/8/2013 06:47:05 00:24:8d:ba:18:23(unknown) get IP 192.168.2.3
Oct/8/2013 06:58:30 192.168.2.2(Computer) login
Oct/8/2013 07:11:17 192.168.2.2(Computer) login
Oct/8/2013 07:29:45 192.168.2.2(Computer) login
Oct/8/2013 07:35:50 00:24:8d:ba:18:23(unknown) release IP 192.168.2.3
Oct/8/2013 07:36:37 00:24:8d:ba:18:23(Host7) get IP 192.168.2.3
Oct/8/2013 07:36:49 00:24:8d:ba:18:23(Host7) release IP 192.168.2.3
Oct/8/2013 07:36:54 00:24:8d:ba:18:23(Host8) get IP 192.168.2.3
Oct/8/2013 07:37:24 00:24:8d:ba:18:23(Host8) release IP 192.168.2.3
Oct/8/2013 07:58:27 192.168.2.2(Computer) logout
Oct/8/2013 08:01:19 leave multicast group 239.255.255.250
Oct/8/2013 08:02:41 90:e6:ba:a4:7a:ab(Computer) get IP 192.168.2.2
Oct/8/2013 08:03:11 join multicast group 239.255.255.250
Oct/8/2013 08:20:20 24:5f:df:71:e6:4b(android-e55947e) get IP 192.168.2.4
Oct/8/2013 08:23:59 192.168.2.2(Computer) login
Oct/8/2013 09:52:45 WAN DHCP client receive DHCP Ack
Oct/8/2013 10:15:47 192.168.2.2(Computer) login
Oct/8/2013 10:34:10 192.168.2.2(Computer) login
Reply Quote
Router: Belkin F9K1002 v1
Internet Service Provider: Time Warner Cable
Status: Can not play multiplayer

Additional Notes: Same as Deciple so I'll copy it below
I cannot join on anyone at all and no one can join on me. It puts me in there party they see me join, maybe 10 seconds later it tells them I left the party and on my screen it says press start to join and stays in main menu. Upper right hand corner whoever's party I joined their name begins to flash.
Reply Quote

As for ports, there are the ones I have forwarded. To use port forwarding you MUST use Static IP's and in fact PSN tends to work better when you do.

Ports: 3478, 3479, 3658, 5223

That's the only ones I have forwarded and PSN has always worked well for me.


Are these ports TCP, UDP or both?
Reply Quote
10/07/2013 06:16 PMPosted by Deciple
Router: Belkin Nk92v1


Router Model:belkin f9k1001v1


10/08/2013 04:23 AMPosted by SCfinalvirus
Router Model: Belkin F9K1001


10/08/2013 10:41 AMPosted by JetJaguar
Router: Belkin F9K1002 v1


I'm noticing a pattern so far...

Oct/8/2013 07:36:37 00:24:8d:ba:18:23(Host7) get IP 192.168.2.3
Oct/8/2013 07:36:49 00:24:8d:ba:18:23(Host7) release IP 192.168.2.3


What is your PS3 IP address? Is it the 192.168.2.3?
Reply Quote
my router is belkin F9k1002v1 sorry.

and yes ps3 ip address is 192.168.2.3 but changes someties to like 4 or 5 depending on how many devices are on the network..last night changing the channel from 1 to 6 i was able to join a game but it cut my mic out..so i tried to open port 80 and ended up getting kicked out of the game and cant join again lol..now changing the channel isnt fixing anything
Reply Quote
My NAT is on Type 2. I don't think it is the routers. I mean what a coincidence that right after the patch, we can't join games anymore. It was perfectly fine before. Everything else still works great over WiFi, like call of duty and Netflix. I can see people in the lobby, but when I join them, it just goes to the loading screen with gaming tips. Do people from Blizzard even play this game and notice these problems?

Router: Belkin F5D8236-4 v3
Provider: Time Warner Cable (Turbo version)
Cannot play multiplayer after new patch.
Reply Quote

Please report any Code of Conduct violations, including:

Threats of violence. We take these seriously and will alert the proper authorities.

Posts containing personal information about other players. This includes physical addresses, e-mail addresses, phone numbers, and inappropriate photos and/or videos.

Harassing or discriminatory language. This will not be tolerated.

Forums Code of Conduct

Report Post # written by

Reason
Explain (256 characters max)

Reported!

[Close]