Diablo® III

Is Spectral Blades Viable?

I have pretty abysmal gear on my wizard as I just started playing again not too long ago. I was trying out Spectral blade with the healing blades rune though and it seems really strong if you have decent mitigation.

I was running on MP4 with just the lifesteal from healing blades and the 1.5% from the blood rune on magic weapon. I was able to pretty easily tank even elite packs without much trouble, just popping frost nova if my health dropped low. I was using arcane dynamo since I use the signature spell alot along with blizzard with the freezing rune for more frozen enemies to give me free lifesteal.

I was thinking that if this worked on MP4 with terrible gear that surely I could make this work on MP8-10 with triple the damage being dealt (my DPS is like 80k), more mitigation and health, and lifesteal on my weapon as well. Not to mention with the greater damage I could drop one of my buffing abilities for hydra for more sustained DPS.

Just wondering if anyone has this build or has tried it and failed miserably lol.
Reply Quote
MVP - Diablo III
View profile
Hmm, try this build: http://us.battle.net/d3/en/calculator/wizard#WdkQSO!deW!YcbcZY

Viable. Fun, yes. Efficient, not so much the higher MP you go. So start low and work your way up.

Plays like this: http://youtu.be/2Rz3eFycavk

At lower APS you can substitute Wave of Force for Arcane Mines, Calamity for another other Teleport rune.
Twitter: @Jaetch
Reply Quote
Is Spectral Blades Viable?

Yes but the DPS multiplier on spec blades builds is usually pretty abyssmal. And you gotta build pretty tanky because you can't depend on DS and FN being ready every second or 2 because blades procs CM quite poorly.

It makes a nice side show for meteor or blizzard. I like to pair impactful blades with liquefy and I can run it on MP10 if I want but effiiciency for me kinda sputters out at MP9.

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/calculator/wizard#WQPXYf!geW!ZZccYZ

My meat/blades build.