Diablo® III

Help me pick a GPU

http://pcpartpicker.com/user/Xophax/saved/2OAs

This is the build I've decided to start. I'm having a hard time selecting the right GPU for it. This is my first build, so if anyone has anyone suggestions I would greatly appreciate it.

This build MUST be able to handle Diablo 3 on HIGH settings and it must be future-proof for the expansion. Also, I may start playing WOW in the near future, so I want both of these games to run very, very smoothly, but at the same time not break the bank.

Insight into either getting/or not getting a SSD.

Thanks! :)
Reply Quote
The one you have selected so far, HD 7950, is more than capable of running D3 and WoW on max settings. Both games are not really graphics intense to start with. Make sure you get one with a custom cooler.

The SSD will significantly improve load times (Windows boot up/shutdown, games starting etc) but not the server / network lag.

When you install Windows, make sure it's the 64-bit version.
Edited by Hypersonic#1142 on 11/14/2013 6:13 PM PST
Reply Quote
http://www.logicalincrements.com/

http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu_value.html
Reply Quote
The one you have selected so far, HD 7950, is more than capable of running D3 and WoW on max settings. Both games are not really graphics intense to start with. Make sure you get one with a custom cooler.

The SSD will significantly improve load times (Windows boot up/shutdown, games starting etc) but not the server / network lag.

When you install Windows, make sure it's the 64-bit version.

I can tell you that a SSD is great for the OS and some apps. I can't go back to a HDD because a SSD makes the OS feel smoother. But Diablo 3, there is something wrong with the game itself. I tested it on a single HDD, a RAID0 and a SSD and no matter what I had it on the load times are the same and the game still had parts of lag or stuttering.