Diablo® III

Does my Offhand DPS affect my overall DPS?

Hey Guys. Im rather new to Diablo 3, and recently started a Demon Hunter. Im sorry, im sure this topic has been brought up a million times by now, but i cant find a good definition. Sometimes people say it depends on the Class, sometimes it is affected by the Skills, and others claim it makes no difference what so ever.

Long Story short: If im using Two 1 Handed Crossbows, will i get a Dmg Boost becauce of the Off-Hands DPS? Or will the Game only count the Stats on the Off Hand? Using a Quiver will give me much more damage most of the time, compared to a second 1 Handed Crossbow. If i switch the Slots of the X-Bows though, it doesnt affect my dps in any way...which means there is no real "Offhand" when using two Crossbows? Well, its kinda confusing, hearing all of these rumors. Perhaps i should simply go "Argh, screw it, ill just use a Bow / 2handed Crossbow and a Quiver."
Reply Quote
View profile
Main hand damage won't be effected by the damage on the off-hand. Only the stats of the off-hand.

Your DPS is averaged between the two hand crossbows when your firing a basic arrow.
Reply Quote
Ah, thanks for clearing that up. :)
Reply Quote
View profile
So when you use skills, the crossbows alternate. Some people try to take advantage of this by using "heavy hitter" skills on the main hand. I can be hard to keep track of sometimes.
Reply Quote
^ to elaborate on Nyan's statement: Some skills (mostly skills that you shoot projectiles one after another) will alternate between both crossbows, whilst some skills will use the crossbow that's about to be fired with next. A couple of skills will only ever be cast using the mainhand crossbow.