Diablo® III

Can you tell if an item is dupped?

Hello, I'm new to the online aspect of D3, though I've been playing the game offline for a several months now and played A LOT of D2 on PC. Anyway, a friend of mine just got rid of his PS3. Before he did, he found out that I play PS3 D3 and said that I could have all of his gear if I wanted it. He dropped over 250 Legs and set pieces on me, most of them lvl 60+. None of it is hacked, to the best of my knowledge; all of the stats and sockets are reasonable according to the game guild. I do wonder if it's dupped though. Is there a way to tell? I ask because, now that I have a bunch of extra high-lvl gear, I'd be interested in trading it away for stuff I need/want, but from some of the posts I've seen here, there seems to be a huge stigma about trading people dupped gear. Any advice?
Reply Quote
If you wan't, post the stats and I can tell you if any of them are some of the more common items that are mass duped.

Otherwise you can always just google the stats and 9/10 you will find it on either this forum or a 3rd party forum site. Usually it's somebody trading it or just posting the stats.
Reply Quote
if he was into trading, then it was certainly duped
Reply Quote
I hate to bust everyone's bubble but not everyone dupes. Some people just farm a ton of stuff to trade. I myself do it. I farm until I farm my self into boredom.
Reply Quote
Usually if I do trades it isn't with randoms. Me and My brother along with my wife all trade among each other. I know most of the stuff "traded" is duped. Dupes don't happen when everyone in my family farms like a mad man with a butcher knife. I've seen my fair share of duped items and modded items. I prefer to stick with my farming and randomly visiting someones game and dropping a ton of Legs for them. It's not that I hate duping but duping is just a way of the game.