Diablo® III

Looking for good Crusader builds.

I am still fairly new to D3 and just started playing the crusader class. I am used to wizard since I've been playing it for awhile and need help with a build for crusader. I'm looking for gear, what I should put my paragon in, and skills I should use.
Reply Quote
100 Orc Death Knight
Hello Dragoon,

One of the challenges that you will face initially as a new crusader is effective wrath management. Some of our main abilities (Fist of the Heavens for example) can be very costly. As a direct result of this, many crusaders, particularly while leveling, will start off with builds using Blessed Hammer [Burning Wrath or Thunderstruck] or Sweep Attack [Blazing Sweep], as they are much less expensive.

You will also want to use either Heavenly Strength or Fervor for one of your passive slots, depending on whether you are using a 2-hand or 1-hand weapon.

For a primary attack (wrath generator), if you like a more "in your face" melee style, I'd recommend Punish [Roar]. This gives you a nice defensive boost, and if you have decent block chance on your shield (without additional block chance, they range from 10% to 20% block chance) it can add quite a bit of damage without actually spending more time attacking. If you prefer to keep your distance, Justice [Crack] is a solid choice.

You'll also find that while leveling, Laws of Justice [Immovable Object] is a tremendous defensive boost since you cannot find all resistance as a stat on gear until a bit later.

Also, an important thing some newer players overlook...if you haven't already, turn on "elective mode" in the options menu. By default, the game limits your skill choices to 1 from every category...this need not be the case. Elective mode allows you to choose any skill combination you want.

To give a very very basic build idea, I would recommend something like this for leveling:

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/calculator/crusader#aeTdiV!ZYUi!aaZbZZ