Diablo® III

New Class Suggestion: Dragonkin

First of all, I would like to say that I personally would LOVE to see a dragon based class in D3. Whether that happens or not is a different story. Blizzard feel free to take whatever you want from this post.

Please, feedback and suggestions more than welcome. I am no class designer by any stretch of the imagination.

This is a dragon looking class that fights with melee weapons but also has various fire based abilities. Dragonkin is a hybrid melee fighter / short range spell caster. He is a ruthless fighter that can call upon powerful fire based magicks from his ancient brethren.

Concept art: Something like this maybe - http://132.209.40.23/w4/campagne/images/WotC_Art_Galleries/Monsters_Faerun/Dragonkin.jpg

Resource (2-part): Zeal / Fervor

You gain Zeal with your melee attacks, but you also spend it for zeal-based abilities. Once you have maxed your Zeal, the Dragonkin goes into a frenzy, morphing into a full bodied dragon and greatly increasing his attack speed and instantly refreshes the cooldowns of all his abilities. This effect lasts for x amount of time (haven't decided yet, 10-15 seconds maybe?). You also instantly receive max Zeal whenever you fall below 30% health. Frenzy can only occur once every x seconds (60-120 maybe?) and depletes the Zeal globe whenever the duration ends.

Fervor is the magickal counterpart to zeal and is used for your fire based spells. For the most part, it works like Wizard's Arcane Power, in that it regenerates relatively quick, perhaps not quite as fast though. However, when Dragonkin goes into a Frenzy, Fervor regenerates extremely fast.