Diablo® III

Q about 2011 Writing Contest Submission Form

Sorry, I looked everywhere and didn't find an appropriate forum for it.

Seeing as this is the Diablo Lore forum and I'm writing a short story about Diablo, it's the closest I found.

I notice the submission form has a section for "Description". Is this a short description of the story or a short bio of yourself? I thought it would be a short desc. of the story, but one of the lower options says if you're a professional writer, you should mention it in the description.

I'm not a pro writer, but that bit just made me wonder what exactly is supposed to go in the description space.

Thanks in advance.
Reply Quote
Since you say you don't have official publishing background I'll stay clear clicking from either check boxes bellow.

Unless you are required to fill in "Description" details after submitting I would definitively add a summary of your story rather including your bio, they'll already have your contact information should they want it latter. Read the previous 2009 and 2010 "Writing Contest Finalist Excerpts" as guideline examples.

Good luck with you submission! We could use a Diablo (or StarCraft) winner!
Reply Quote
Actually, the second check box is if I'm aspiring to become a professional, which I am, so I'll be clicking that one ;)

The problem with reading the previous winners' excerpts is that it doesn't help me in filling out the submission form, but I think I'll take your advice and provide a summary of the story. If they require a short bio of me, I'm sure they can ask me for it later. Thx :) And if I don't win, I hope I at least place!

(Of course, if anyone else knows for sure what goes in the description box or has entered the contest in the past, I'd definitely welcome your response :) ).
Reply Quote
I've been participating in the contest since it started (went with Diablo this year!), and I've always used that field for a story description.
Reply Quote