Diablo® III

System requirements?

85 Night Elf Priest
9920
Posts: 7,143
01/12/2012 11:31 PMPosted by Sean
http://us.battle.net/support/en/article/diablo-iii-system-requirements


No offense, but i really doubt your going to be able to run D3 with maxed out graphical options on a high rez monitor with those "recommended" system requirements.


if you can im gonna kick this games !@# with my pc that cost me 450 bucks prebuilt 2 years ago rawr!
Reply Quote
Posts: 1,741
Does D3 seem to be more GPU intensive or CPU intensive?
Reply Quote
Posts: 800
Will my bad computer be able to run diablo 3 alright? D:

Quad core 2.40 GHz
3 gigs of ram
NVIDIA GeForce 8500 GT

My computer is pretty old and stuff so I don't know how well
it will fair with diablo 3 D:

Ugh I need to buy a better computer but that will not happen for awhile


01/12/2012 11:31 PMPosted by Sean
http://us.battle.net/support/en/article/diablo-iii-system-requirements


No offense, but i really doubt your going to be able to run D3 with maxed out graphical options on a high rez monitor with those "recommended" system requirements.


Where in the OP is "maxes out graphical options" requested?

Kids these days...
Reply Quote
Posts: 800
01/13/2012 08:07 AMPosted by SolidHadriel
I would not go with that build. Talk about hardware bottlenecks.


Outstanding argument. Don't bother explaining yourself, just criticize and run.
Reply Quote
01/12/2012 11:31 PMPosted by Sean
No offense, but i really doubt your going to be able to run D3 with maxed out graphical options on a high rez monitor with those "recommended" system requirements.


Recommended isn't Optimal. Recommended is usually geared somewhere in the middle, where the game will look good, the way the company wanted it to. It often doesn't dictate what's needed for optimum graphics, which oftentimes only a $5000 doomsday machine can provide.
Reply Quote
Posts: 841
01/12/2012 11:31 PMPosted by Sean
http://us.battle.net/support/en/article/diablo-iii-system-requirements


No offense, but i really doubt your going to be able to run D3 with maxed out graphical options on a high rez monitor with those "recommended" system requirements.


...implying that "recommended" specs translates to running the game totally maxed out at 1080p resolution or higher...
Reply Quote
Posts: 800
01/13/2012 10:20 AMPosted by Bruin
...implying that "recommended" specs translates to running the game totally maxed out at 1080p resolution or higher...


That's not by the OP.

01/12/2012 11:32 PMPosted by Pâiñ
As long as I can play it smoothly on any setting i'm fine.. I don't play because of graphics :)


This however, IS by the OP.

Basic reading comprehension people.
Edited by Mercanyin on 1/13/2012 10:49 AM PST
Reply Quote
Im sure the demons in the game dont care if the grass is flowing while you punch their faces in with your stone monk hands. As long as you can see the screen to kill a bunch of demons i say no worries and have at it!
Edited by Ratm on 1/13/2012 12:21 PM PST
Reply Quote
01/13/2012 08:44 AMPosted by Pleasuredome
Does D3 seem to be more GPU intensive or CPU intensive?


Neither, really.

The game engine isn't pushing any graphic envelopes and my 2-year-old system runs it on high settings with no framerate stutter.

Reply Quote
My computer specs are way above recommended, I still get massive FPS drops for some reason :(
Reply Quote
Posts: 3,294
Buy the best computer you feel comfortable paying for. Generally I like to get the stuff that was 'awesome' and 'new' a year ago to keep costs down somewhat. If you buy something cheap, expect it to be out of date that much faster. A well built system will not become obsolete until 4 years later. Skimping will have you upgrading again in 2 years.
Reply Quote
Posts: 872
Great should be able to play 4 clients at full,
Reply Quote
Posts: 575
01/13/2012 05:31 AMPosted by Scourge


No offense, but i really doubt your going to be able to run D3 with maxed out graphical options on a high rez monitor with those "recommended" system requirements.



Nobody said the game will run maxed out on a high rez monitor with the recommended settings.

"Recommended Settings" means the game will run satisfactory with that hardware with conservative settings.


"Minimum Settings" means the game will run on that hardware at the minimum settings.


I'm glad somebody else said this...because when I read that post I was just "...wat?"
Reply Quote
Posts: 695
HD Space: 12 GB available... man thats like WoW... I think I had 14 gigs when I last uninstalled.
Reply Quote
Posts: 4
Would this be enough to run the game alright ?
Intel® Core™2 Duo CPU E6550 @ 2.33GHz
2.36 GHz
NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GT
Reply Quote
Posts: 1,293
So d3 only runs two cores?
Reply Quote
83 Troll Death Knight
660
Posts: 15
Dang...Looks like my laptop can't handle this game and I really want to beta test it :-(
Reply Quote
Posts: 800
Would this be enough to run the game alright ?
Intel® Core™2 Duo CPU E6550 @ 2.33GHz
2.36 GHz
NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GT


Absolutely, but you could upgrade the 8600 to a gtx460 for around $130 and get HUGE performance gains. Make sure your power supply can handle the 460 otherwise you'll need another $100.
Edited by Mercanyin on 1/14/2012 7:09 AM PST
Reply Quote

Please report any Code of Conduct violations, including:

Threats of violence. We take these seriously and will alert the proper authorities.

Posts containing personal information about other players. This includes physical addresses, e-mail addresses, phone numbers, and inappropriate photos and/or videos.

Harassing or discriminatory language. This will not be tolerated.

Forums Code of Conduct

Report Post # written by

Reason
Explain (256 characters max)

Reported!

[Close]