Diablo® III

How do monks work in PvP?

Hey guys never played diablo before, didnt play beta, etc, so essentially I'm a complete noob at this game, and was just curious about how monks will play in PvP.

I'm a long term MMO player so I get how this game works, I'm just curious about how monk attacks work in PvP.

Basically most of our generators seem to be 3 hit combos, do these abilities root our opponent so that we can get all three hits off, and if not how is monk going to be viable in PvP. I messed with builds and it just seems really easily kiteable. Should PvP monks be stacking the runes with the 50% movement slows so they can stay in range in order to be able to get generators off? Are the stuns better than the slows despite their shorter durations?

I was watching the blizzcon 2010 footage and it seems like the wizard would be able to kite us super easily.

This is just a random build i made based on what sounds good as an MMO player but don't know if it is actually any good?

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/calculator/monk#hUYdSR!ebV!bZaaZZ

Basically I'm looking to be a dps role in pvp perhaps with a little support.

Another question I have is how significant is the heal of breath of heaven? I don't have a clue how the numbers translate in game, but given that serenity with a crimson rune heals for 3-4 times the amount of breath of heaven it seems like breath of heaven is kind of insignificance? Do you think it is worth having for PvP? Maybe with the guiding light talent?
Reply Quote
I don't plan on doing any PvP so I'm just responding out of theorycrafting point of view.

Sweeping wind I doubt will get much play in PVP because of the limited range. You would need to be able hit a target three times to get one stack up.

I made a few changes to the build.

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/calculator/monk#eiYdSR!ebV!aZcaZZ