Diablo® III

D3 still needs quite a bit more work

I just got into Beta with the huge wave. After playing through the entire Beta a bunch of times and leveling almost 4 characters to max level, I can honestly say the game looks really good, but definitely needs more work. To put it in a different way, I am a programmer and a UI designer for 15 years, if D3 were my product, I would not release it like this.

For example:
- D3 launcher crashes on initial load on at least two common system setups, one of which being D3's "recommended system configuration"
- Certain journals won't start reading like the others. I'm not talking about lores, but journals. The difference is journals start reading as soon as you pick them up, because they add to the storyline; whereas lores don't for both
- Event completion dialogue boxes don't have their icons displayed; rather, the icon area is black
- The tool tips for at least hero details are either incomplete or flat out missing
- The party event start dialogue is rough on the edges. A player can easily click on Decline by accident if they just happen to be clicking in that area. An additional confirmation screen for Decline is very much needed
- There are a few clipping problems and invisible walls

I can go on and list all of them, but most of you would write TL/DR anyway. As I have said at the beginning, I am very impressed by the level of polish D3 already has, but I cannot see it as all that close to a final product. Sure, Blizzard can be like Dice or Bethesda, and apply the same low standard for quality those companies used for Battlefield 3 and Skyrim. But would YOU be happy when the game you have been waiting for for so long can't even guide you through the storyline without misbehaving? I know I wouldn't.

Give Blizzard some more time, guys. This game is not ready. But when it is, it'll be EPIC!
Reply Quote
I can go on and list all of them, but most of you would write TL/DR anyway.