Diablo® III

creating a new rig plz help

85 Undead Mage
So this is my first time Frankensteining a computer and would like some feedback im aiming for an i5 cuse from what ive read i7s arent needed for gaming just running applications. I was slightly confused as some people recommended geforce 560 ti graphics card when I look it up on newegg they have like 20 choices with a 40 dollar difference as far as the mobo goes I'm not quite sure what to look for in one. Anyway I could try to get this beastie under 800 dollars ;p

secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx?WishListNumber=19993526

edit: oh btw I have a family member who works at walmart so OOOOHHHH 10% discount on their website but meh i still think newegg is a better deal

*Update* getting the processor off walmart brings it down to 200 dollars instead of 225 and instead of that case for 59 i got one off walmart for 40 bucks (sure it looks cool but will it keep my pc cool?) oh and i decided to go wth a 500 gb hard drive I have like 3 externals lying around as it is
http://www.walmart.com/ip/Raidmax-Tornado-SECC-Steel-ATX-Mid-Tower-Computer-Case-Black-Blue/16318511
that brings the total to 850 dollars, hows that sound price wise? is that a good deal?
Edited by Wigsta on 3/31/2012 12:42 AM PDT
Reply Quote
bump
Reply Quote
Well, it really depends on how much you want to spend on it. Personally, I think your choices don't lend themselves to upgrading very well.

The PSU should be more than 650W if you're going to SLI anything these days. Shoot for 1000W. It will last longer so you don't have to buy a new PSU in a few years. Personally, I am using a 1200W.

Things like CPU, GPU, and RAM (and possibly mobo) are really what you should be upgrading every few years. The other things should be "good enbough" to last at least 2 builds.