Diablo® III

Monster melee attack range

I have noticed this issue since I started playing beta. You just get hit by monster's melee attack when you are obvious out of their range. I don't know whether it's a latency issue, or intentional design, or bug?

I made a detailed video to how obvious this issue is. It's quite clear and obvious. But, it seems like it depends on the type of monsters. I got hit by zombie and skeleton way out of range, but I can actually dodge most of the attacks from Grotesque.

Watch it:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CW3VZs3gx2A

Latency? Intentional design? Or bug?

---------------------------------------------------------
Here is another video made by someone to show a comparison of this issue between D3, D2, and Torchlight.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WsuJXNeLm-4

Many people have reported this issue long ago, any answers?

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/3881920525

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/3278902529

http://diablo.incgamers.com/forums/showthread.php?812552-Diablo-3-Beta-HIT-LAG-it-s-TERRIBLE-(
Edited by Larse on 4/12/2012 3:44 PM PDT
Latency most likely.
This probably needs to be on the tech problems forum or whatever it's called....
Was it seriously need to break forum rules & do an all caps post just for this, I mean seriously.

EDIT: It's funny how changes it from all caps after he realizes that someone reported him for it lol.
Edited by Sofia on 4/11/2012 1:17 PM PDT
I suspect this would have been more noticeable in the beta if people had cared more about getting hit once.

In inferno, one "undeserved" hit could mean defeat. And let's no even get into hardcore.

However, I suspect the reason for no blue response is that it's better in the release version. Or that it's never going away and needed for some "balancing". But I hope the first one.
LOL remind me of Warcraft III...move archer into range of grunt, move well out of range by the time the axe falls...it whiffs...*SPLAT* gg archer