Diablo® III

Bandwidth Usage

My new job will allow me to use my laptop while working. However, the place might not have Wi-Fi.

So I got the idea of getting one of those USB modems that you can connect to your laptop and have internet anywhere. The problem, however, is that they allow from 3 to 5 gb max bandwidth.

Diablo 3 is mostly server side as opposed to client side, and this got me worried on whether 3gb or 5gb will be enough per month?

Does anyone know how much bandwidth Diablo is currently eating in the beta stage?

Thanks in advance.
Reply Quote
Yeah man, Diablo will most likely put you over that limit. How much do you plan on playing though?
Reply Quote
<<<<<< still lucky enough to be grandfathered into vzw unlimited data plan on my phone.
Reply Quote
I work as a security guard in a night shift position. I intend on using that USB mainly for Diablo 3.

With that said, probably twenty to thirty hours a week.
Reply Quote
I work as a security guard in a night shift position. I intend on using that USB mainly for Diablo 3.

Security guard playing D3 huh? Where at? /cackle
Reply Quote

Security guard playing D3 huh? Where at? /cackle

Hey, I ain't complaining. Getting paid to play my most anticipated game? Sign me up.
Reply Quote
Bump?
Reply Quote
Have one at the location I work.

Have you thought about using "Clear Wireless"? I think they do not have a bandwidth limit, and it is also NO CONTRACT. I am not sure where you are located at, but look them up.

Their streaming speed is mediocre, but thats true for all of them. (Slight lag, but still playable, atleast WoW was).

THIS.
Reply Quote
04/26/2012 10:23 AMPosted by dassix
Yeah man, Diablo will most likely put you over that limit. How much do you plan on playing though?

Since the only way you can know this is if you are logging your bandwidth usage for D3 you should have no problem telling us what the typical bandwidth used after 1-hour of playing the game is.

I'll just wait over here.
Reply Quote