Diablo® III

Low FPS in witch doctor multiplayer

Posts: 341
Anybody that has grouped with 4 witch doctors has had their computer slow down in framerates! This happens when we are walking through zones with 12 pups or fighting battles.

What aspect of the computer will increase the FPS when there are 4 witch doctors and 12 pups on the screen fighting other monsters?

So here are some questions for fellows to think about and get back to me.
Does the graphics card need more video ram?

Does the CPU need better processing speed?

Does the memory ram sticks need to run at a faster speed?

Does the memory ram sticks need a higher amount of total memory?
Reply Quote
Posts: 341
It's not my pc. its anybody on any pc that plays with 4 witch doctors all summoning dogs.
Reply Quote
Posts: 363
i played myself and 3 other WD with dogs no problem with frames, not oto mention we all chucked spider at SK for fun lmao.
Reply Quote
IDK, it could be just one of those things, two of them, or all of them.

I don't know what your PC is.

This. Post your specs if you want a real answer.
Reply Quote
05/05/2012 11:22 AMPosted by BehemothGHun
It's not my pc. its anybody on any pc that plays with 4 witch doctors all summoning dogs.


It's not necessarily those problems you listed, it could be any problem, up to and including too many penguins in the Antarctic.
Edited by Maffia#2987 on 5/5/2012 11:36 AM PDT
Reply Quote
Posts: 341
05/05/2012 11:26 AMPosted by EliteOp
i played myself and 3 other WD with dogs no problem with frames, not oto mention we all chucked spider at SK for fun lmao.

What are your hardware and OS elite?

Here are what im using. Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 3 (2600.xpsp_sp3_gdr.111025-1629)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
System Model: GA-790XTA-UD4
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 965 Processor, MMX, 3DNow (4 CPUs), ~3.8GHz
Memory: 3326MB RAM
Page File: 1138MB used, 4066MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.5512 32bit Unicode

Video:
---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
Manufacturer: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Chip type: AMD Radeon Graphics Processor (0x68B8)
DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_68B8&SUBSYS_21401462&REV_00
Display Memory: 1024.0 MB
Current Mode: 1680 x 1050 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor: Plug and Play Monitor
Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
Driver Name: ati2dvag.dll
Driver Version: 6.14.0010.7256 (English)
DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 3/9/2012 00:18:40, 305152 bytes
Edited by BehemothGHun#1549 on 5/5/2012 11:44 AM PDT
Reply Quote
05/05/2012 11:41 AMPosted by BehemothGHun
Memory: 3326MB RAM

Yep, definitely need more RAM.
Reply Quote
Posts: 341
05/05/2012 11:47 AMPosted by Soultar
Yep, definitely need more RAM.

Can't increase ram on a 32bit OS beyond 3,200MB, so do you mean I need a new OS?
Reply Quote
05/05/2012 11:47 AMPosted by Soultar
Memory: 3326MB RAM

Yep, definitely need more RAM.

He's on Windows XP, he doesn't need more RAM.

I use XP, and while playing the beta I never even went over 2 gigs of RAM, with the game totally maxed out. I actually played D3 while playing another game and suffered no performance loss, and I'm rated at 3576 RAM.

I've said it a a lot now, but I guess I need to keep saying it! The beta was known for its performance issues. Not everybody was affected. My old computer was, this one wasn't.
Reply Quote
Posts: 478
05/05/2012 11:08 AMPosted by BehemothGHun
What aspect of the computer will increase the FPS when there are 4 witch doctors and 12 pups on the screen fighting other monsters?

My guess is that the bottleneck is serverside- that's a lot of AI behaviour and animations and mobs etc. all of that is data which needs to be piped back and forth from your client to the server....

another casualty of online-only?
Reply Quote
Posts: 1,556
i saw mine chug a bit too during open weekend. im 90% sure this will be ironed out at release, or soon after. best of luck either way
Reply Quote
Posts: 169
This is mine and I still get some massive FPS drops, not just with WD but in any battles with a lot of enemies. I have no idea how to fix it. Any suggestions?

Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.110622-1506)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: ECS
System Model: A780VM-M2
BIOS: Default System BIOS
Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) 9500 Quad-Core Processor (4 CPUs), ~2.2GHz
Memory: 6144MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 6144MB RAM
Page File: 2634MB used, 12150MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 64bit Unicode

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: GeForce 9800 GT
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0614&SUBSYS_C9743842&REV_A2
Display Memory: 3307 MB
Dedicated Memory: 491 MB
Shared Memory: 2815 MB
Current Mode: 1680 x 1050 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor Name: ACER X223W (Analog)
Monitor Model: Acer X223W
Monitor Id: ACR0050
Native Mode: 1680 x 1050(p) (59.883Hz)
Output Type: HD15
Driver Name: nvd3dumx.dll,nvwgf2umx.dll,nvwgf2umx.dll,nvd3dum,nvwgf2um,nvwgf2um
Driver File Version: 8.17.0012.9610 (English)
Driver Version: 8.17.12.9610
DDI Version: 10
Driver Model: WDDM 1.1
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 2/29/2012 17:02:00, 17642816 bytes

My video card is also over-clocked from 600/1500/900 to 680/1700/1000. (Core/Shader/Memory)
Edited by FenixHero#1297 on 5/5/2012 12:44 PM PDT
Reply Quote
05/05/2012 12:30 PMPosted by SeaCucumber
another casualty of online-only?

No, because computers don't work like that. Networking is typically in it's own thread because of how it is designed: sit and wait for a response while doing nothing else. If the client has to wait due to latency, your frame rate wouldn't drop. It'd just wait.
Reply Quote
Posts: 341
05/05/2012 12:43 PMPosted by FenixHero
This is mine and I still get some massive FPS drops, not just with WD but in any battles with a lot of enemies. I have no idea how to fix it. Any suggestions?

I wish I could noodle this issue out. I like playing coop more than being alone. With your 64-bit WIndows 7 OS, I do know they stated D3 at release would not take advantage of DirectX11 multi threading support for quad cores.

Here is to hoping that when the first patch for D3 incorporates DirectX 11 the FPS slowdown goes away. I hope the computer can render more frames in advance with DirectX 11 support, so FPS does not drop below 30-60. Your results give me good information on my machine's performance. Until Diablo 3 uses DirectX 11, I don't plan to upgrade my OS and RAM. I may empirically test D3's FPS when I change my RAM frequency and transport speeds in the BIOS.
Reply Quote


Yep, definitely need more RAM.

He's on Windows XP, he doesn't need more RAM.

I use XP, and while playing the beta I never even went over 2 gigs of RAM, with the game totally maxed out. I actually played D3 while playing another game and suffered no performance loss, and I'm rated at 3576 RAM.

I've said it a a lot now, but I guess I need to keep saying it! The beta was known for its performance issues. Not everybody was affected. My old computer was, this one wasn't.


hey sorry to bump this but im really hoping you guys will help me out with this. my specs are:

Pentium (R) 4 CPU 3.20GHZ
3.19 GHZ, 1.50 GB of RAM (yeah its super low)
ATI Radeon HD 4670 1 GB
(edit, its windows XP professional pack 3)

my default power supply was 250 watts and my graphics card required 400. i played the beta WITH the 250 and the fps was slow, so i installed a new 500 watt power supply. do you think that was the reason it was low fps?

im PRAYING it'll work totally fine with the new power supply, im gonna be so sad if its really laggy and slow fps on launch date. i really cant be splurging on an entirely new computer in this economy im helpin my dad pay our house bills lol
Edited by Sandraptor#1507 on 5/10/2012 9:47 PM PDT
Reply Quote

Please report any Code of Conduct violations, including:

Threats of violence. We take these seriously and will alert the proper authorities.

Posts containing personal information about other players. This includes physical addresses, e-mail addresses, phone numbers, and inappropriate photos and/or videos.

Harassing or discriminatory language. This will not be tolerated.

Forums Code of Conduct

Report Post # written by

Reason
Explain (256 characters max)
Submit Cancel

Reported!

[Close]