Diablo® III

Some observations about the Wizard

80 Blood Elf Paladin
So I've been reading some of the posts here, and I feel there's a lot of misconceptions concerning how the Wizard will play out. Tl;dr at the bottom.

Some quick background: played a LOT of D2 (at least 8 level 75+ chars that I can remember offhand and 2 with best possible gear) and WoW, so I have a lot of experience as to how Blizzard balances their games and abilities.

First, there seems to be a lot of confusion over how the wizard plays solo. Everyone has a chance to play with someone else, as we all experienced with the templar. On a personal level, I feel the templar is the perfect merc for the wizard, as he's more of a tank than a damage dealer, which complements the wizard well. The templar will definitely die to packs of strong enemies (like champions) if not assisted quickly, but he should be able to solo single mobs that come after you or tank groups for a short period of time as long as you maintain his gear. With this in mind, high AoE dps could be considered a form of crowd control as it would allow your templar to take the agro while you burn mobs down before he dies. Playing a sorceress in D2, this held true even in hell, as I could allow the act 2 hero to run in and blizzard on top of him while using glacial spike/frozen orb. As long as my dps was high, he wouldn't die. I plan on using both blizzard and comet to keep up high AoE damage on him.

Second, there are a lot of assumptions being floated around based on the beta. To rate the effectiveness of a spell based on part of one act in normal is a dangerous mistake to make, as most people who played D2 through hell can attest. I don't know how many times I had to scrap a toon because a spell I thought was awesome in normal turned out to be too underpowered in hell. Until we actually know how hard inferno will be, all we have is speculation. Speculation is okay, as long as everyone takes it with a grain of salt.