Diablo® III

Can my PC run D3?

100 Human Mage
16080
Posts: 103
Hello, I'm not a very tech savvy person when it comes to PC specs, the most i can do is install ram or a video card. I don't quite understand the models and series of video cards or processors so I'm unsure if my PC fits the requirements of D3. I'd appreciate if someone could just give me a yes or no on this. Here's my PC specs :

System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 5/8/2012, 20:30:38
Machine name: FOREVERNESS
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.120305-1505)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Acer
System Model: Aspire X3400G
BIOS: Default System BIOS
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 255 Processor (2 CPUs), ~3.1GHz
Memory: 4096MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 4096MB RAM
Page File: 1912MB used, 6276MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 32bit Unicode

------------
DxDiag Notes
------------
Display Tab 1: No problems found.
Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
Input Tab: No problems found.

--------------------
DirectX Debug Levels
--------------------
Direct3D: 0/4 (retail)
DirectDraw: 0/4 (retail)
DirectInput: 0/5 (retail)
DirectMusic: 0/5 (retail)
DirectPlay: 0/9 (retail)
DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
DirectShow: 0/6 (retail)

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: ATI Radeon HD 5450
Manufacturer: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Chip type: ATI display adapter (0x68F9)
DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_68F9&SUBSYS_21271462&REV_00
Display Memory: 2806 MB
Dedicated Memory: 1014 MB
Shared Memory: 1791 MB
Current Mode: 1440 x 900 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
Monitor Model: W1952
Monitor Id: GSM4B77
Native Mode: 1440 x 900(p) (59.887Hz)
Output Type: HD15
Driver Name: aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx32,aticfx32,aticfx32,atiumd64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atiumdag,atidxx32,atidxx32,atiumdva,atiumd6a.cap,atitmm64.dll
Driver File Version: 8.17.0010.1107 (English)
Driver Version: 8.920.0.0
DDI Version: 11
Driver Model: WDDM 1.1
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 11/9/2011 23:15:20, 927232 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: n/a
WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
Device Identifier: {D7B71EE2-2BB9-11CF-8173-2D01BEC2C535}
Vendor ID: 0x1002
Device ID: 0x68F9
SubSys ID: 0x21271462
Revision ID: 0x0000
Driver Strong Name: oem26.inf:ATI.Mfg.NTamd64.6.1:ati2mtag_EvergreenC:8.920.0.0:pci\ven_1002&dev_68f9
Rank Of Driver: 00E62001
Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_C
Deinterlace Caps: {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(YV12,0x32315659) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC1,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC2,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC3,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC4,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(S340,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
{5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(S342,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
D3D9 Overlay: Not Supported
DXVA-HD: Not Supported
DDraw Status: Enabled
D3D Status: Enabled
AGP Status: Enabled

Any replies are greatly appreciated.
Reply Quote
It should run ok on lowest settings.

When ever you are in doubt, you can go to CanIRunIt.com and type in Diablo III. It will compare your computer specs with the minimum/recommended specs.
Reply Quote
100 Human Mage
16080
Posts: 103
Oh sweet. Thanks for the website. What exactly is going to hinder my performance? I actually just bought that video card because I'm not sure what's good for gaming. I could return it and get a 6XXX series or something i suppose.
Reply Quote
I highly recommend returning it and selecting a video card from this tier list that fits your budget:

http://i1002.photobucket.com/albums/af150/The_FalconO6/CurrentLogicalPCBuyingGuide/Guide.png

Usually buying online is cheaper than buying at a local store. I recommend Amazon, Tiger Direct, or Newegg in that order.
Reply Quote
100 Human Mage
16080
Posts: 103
I bought the 5450 from newegg just a few days ago. I ran a test on that website, it passes all required specs, but the video card fails, but I don't understand why. Suggested requirement is ATI Radeon HD 4870. I have an ATI Radeon HD 5450. Isn't my video card better than suggested? Or do the numbers really have nothing to do with it?
Reply Quote
100 Human Mage
16080
Posts: 103
Perhaps this card? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127610

I actually recently ordered a pre-built gaming PC with a 6670 in it. Could you tell me how that one will run?
Reply Quote
5xxx is the generation. x450 is the performance tier.

It has roughly the same performance as the HD 4550 did.

Here is a generalized tiered performance list:

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/gaming-graphics-card-review,3107-7.html

Note that "Discreet" means video card.

I actually recently ordered a pre-built gaming PC with a 6670 in it. Could you tell me how that one will run?


It should run the game fine at medium settings. It's still a few performance tiers below the recommended 260GTX.

05/09/2012 10:25 PMPosted by Shaelin
Perhaps this card? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127610


It's mediocre at best. I wouldn't recommend it. The 6770 and the 7750 can handle the game on max settings and they start at $100 and $110 respectively.
Edited by Tamer#1168 on 5/9/2012 10:31 PM PDT
Reply Quote
100 Human Mage
16080
Posts: 103
Wow thanks for the info. I've been trying to find a chart like that for months now. You've taught me more in a single post than my months of failed research have gotten me, lol.
Reply Quote
05/09/2012 10:30 PMPosted by Shaelin
Wow thanks for the info. I've been trying to find a chart like that for months now. You've taught me more in a single post than my months of failed research have gotten me, lol.


No problem.
Reply Quote
100 Human Mage
16080
Posts: 103
Great, the problem with the PC i've posted the Dxdiag from is that it's a 4" wide case, with a 250W power supply, i was afraid of getting a card too powerful for it and breaking some stuff. The new PC has a 500W, so I think an upgrade to a 6770 should be possible.
Reply Quote
05/09/2012 10:32 PMPosted by Shaelin
Great, the problem with the PC i've posted the Dxdiag from is that it's a 4" wide case, with a 250W power supply, i was afraid of getting a card too powerful for it and breaking some stuff. The new PC has a 500W, so I think an upgrade to a 6770 should be possible.


Yeah, that's a tight fit. 250W won't get you very far either. It probably doesn't have the right PCI-E 12v rails to connect to your video card either.

500w should be plenty for nearly every video card out there.
Edited by Tamer#1168 on 5/9/2012 10:36 PM PDT
Reply Quote

Please report any Code of Conduct violations, including:

Threats of violence. We take these seriously and will alert the proper authorities.

Posts containing personal information about other players. This includes physical addresses, e-mail addresses, phone numbers, and inappropriate photos and/or videos.

Harassing or discriminatory language. This will not be tolerated.

Forums Code of Conduct

Report Post # written by

Reason
Explain (256 characters max)

Reported!

[Close]