Diablo® III

Question about Trag'Oul

85 Blood Elf Paladin
I'm still pretty new to Diablo lore (which I have to say is a pretty great story) and was curious about Trag'Oul.

I know he's meant to be a mysterious character in the lore and I was reading through my recently acquired Book of Cain (hooray!), when I came upon the nephalem Rathma. From what I've read on these forums about Trag'Oul and the description of Rathma in the Book of Cain, I can't help but wonder what connection these two characters have with each other. There is a note in the book stating the necromancers who followed Rathma depicted him in the form a great serpent, which is also the only form I've ever seen Trag'Oul depicted as. Both characters seem to share the same concerns from a universal perspective and (correct me if I'm wrong) Trag'Oul assists/ed or teaches/tought necromancers.

Did I miss some lore where it is explicitly stated that these two characters are one in the same, or is it only implied in the Book of Cain? Or am I completely wrong in this assumption?
Reply Quote
they are different entities. its explained in the sin war trilogy.

spoiler

trag'oul is a celestial dragon and is depicted as a constellation of stars that move in the shape of a dragon while in his realm. trag'oul claims to have came to being as a byproduct of the creation of sanctuary. nobody knew of his existence until he reached out to "rathma"

rathma is a nickname of sorts (i forget what it stands for but he picked the name due to the meaning of the word). rathma is the son of inarius and lilith. his original name was Linarian, until he changed his name to rathma after joining up with trag'oul. rathma is a nephalem just like the rest of the world, he is just first generation and was the first "necromancer".
Edited by Gulgoth#1362 on 5/11/2012 11:39 PM PDT
Reply Quote
85 Blood Elf Paladin
thanks for the response, this clears up some confusion.