Diablo® III

Error Code BLZPTS0000J?

Posts: 6
I had issues with the Updating Setup Files feature, I had left my computer running while I ran out and did some errands, came back to find no real progress, so I rebooted my computer and when I opened Diablo III this is the error message I keep getting:

"Failed to run a required program (Blizzard Setup) wait one minute and try again and if that doesn't work then please restart your computer and try again.

Error Code: BLZPTS0000J"

I've rebooted, I've waited, and nothing has changed. Blegh.
Reply Quote
Posts: 8
I had the same issue, the link provide offer no explaination, pls help :(
Reply Quote
90 Gnome Rogue
4310
Posts: 102
05/13/2012 06:46 AMPosted by Fishsicle
Error Code: BLZPTS0000J"
Hmm, don't think I've seen this one.

Go into your C:\ProgramData\Battle.net\Setup\diablo3_enus\Log folder and post the last log.
Reply Quote
Posts: 8
2012/05/14 06:50:00.991 - Blizzard Setup v500 at 'C:\Downloads\Diablo 3\Diablo-III-8370-enUS-Installer\Diablo III Setup.exe' for diablo3_enus enUS reporting for duty!
2012/05/14 06:50:00.992 - Setup Complete!
2012/05/14 06:50:00.992 - Bootstrapper Stage: CHECK_PERMISSIONS
2012/05/14 06:50:00.992 - Fix permissions is not set. Continuing.
2012/05/14 06:50:00.992 - Bootstrapper Stage: CHECK_RUNNING_INSTANCE
2012/05/14 06:50:00.995 - Bootstrapper Stage: CHECK_ELEVATION
2012/05/14 06:50:00.995 - We don't need to elevate. The current user is an Administrator.
2012/05/14 06:50:00.995 - Bootstrapper Stage: UPDATE_BOOTSTRAPPER
2012/05/14 06:50:00.995 - Checking patch service for updates.
2012/05/14 06:50:01.666 - Bootstrapper Stage: TRIGGER_RESTART
2012/05/14 06:50:01.666 - Spawning Setup with argument string:
--processpath=C:\Downloads\Diablo 3\Diablo-III-8370-enUS-Installer\Diablo III Setup.exe
--tomepath=C:\Downloads\Diablo 3\Diablo-III-8370-enUS-Installer\Installer Tome 1.MPQE
2012/05/14 06:50:01.666 - Failed to run a required program (Blizzard Setup). Wait one minute and try again and if that doesn't work please restart your computer and try again.
2012/05/14 06:50:01.666 - Bootstrap::run exited.
2012/05/14 06:50:03.873 - Work complete.
2012/05/14 06:50:03.893 - Closing logs.
Reply Quote
Posts: 6
2012/05/14 08:36:01.638 - Blizzard Setup v500 at 'C:\Users\Fishsicle's Real Name\Downloads\Diablo-III-8370-enUS-Installer\Diablo III Setup.exe' for diablo3_enus enUS reporting for duty!
2012/05/14 08:36:01.638 - Deleting old log file 'Setup-20120513-091703046.log'
2012/05/14 08:36:01.669 - Setup Complete!
2012/05/14 08:36:01.669 - Bootstrapper Stage: CHECK_PERMISSIONS
2012/05/14 08:36:01.669 - Fix permissions is not set. Continuing.
2012/05/14 08:36:01.669 - Bootstrapper Stage: CHECK_RUNNING_INSTANCE
2012/05/14 08:36:01.671 - Bootstrapper Stage: CHECK_ELEVATION
2012/05/14 08:36:01.671 - We don't need to elevate. The current user is an Administrator.
2012/05/14 08:36:01.671 - Bootstrapper Stage: UPDATE_BOOTSTRAPPER
2012/05/14 08:36:01.671 - Checking patch service for updates.
2012/05/14 08:36:02.383 - Bootstrapper Stage: TRIGGER_RESTART
2012/05/14 08:36:02.383 - Spawning Setup with argument string:
--processpath=C:\Users\Fishsicle's Real Name\Downloads\Diablo-III-8370-enUS-Installer\Diablo III Setup.exe
--tomepath=C:\Users\Fishsicle's Real Name\Downloads\Diablo-III-8370-enUS-Installer\Installer Tome 1.MPQE
2012/05/14 08:36:02.383 - Failed to run a required program (Blizzard Setup). Wait one minute and try again and if that doesn't work please restart your computer and try again.
2012/05/14 08:36:02.383 - Bootstrap::run exited.
2012/05/14 08:36:09.228 - Work complete.
2012/05/14 08:36:09.306 - Closing logs.

I redownloaded the file to a different location just to make sure that wasn't the issue.. Nothing has changed.
Reply Quote
Try running the installer/downloader in compatibility mode for Windows XP Service Pack 3.
Reply Quote
Posts: 6
05/14/2012 06:13 AMPosted by Kraze
Try running the installer/downloader in compatibility mode for Windows XP Service Pack 3.
Just tried, same problem.
Reply Quote
http://us.battle.net/support/en/article/BLZPTS0000J

Looks like the support article link for this error message has been fixed. I was actually trying to get you a link to it yesterday. So here it is: http://us.battle.net/support/en/article/BLZPTS0000J

I would try the steps in that support article for assistance. One make sure you run the program as an administrator, but as the logs indicate you already are so that is not the problem, but just to be safe I would right-click and than run as admin. So than the problem may be with folder permission issues which you can resolve by right click on the folder and selecting properties. Going under the Security tab you can set yourself full permissions for this folder, I would also possibly suggest setting up the folder for some sharing permissions as well.
Reply Quote
Posts: 1
hmmm I face the same problem. however I am unable to install though i tried all the different steps. Be it compatible with XP pack 2 or pack 3, running as admin or non-admin nor even when i set compatibility as admin and right click to run as admin. All the steps isn't working for me. anyone able to assist me with this? Thank you very much
Reply Quote
Posts: 6
It must be my router, I've allowed all the right inbound ports and I'm still having the same issue. Thanks for all the help!
Edited by Fishsicle#1243 on 5/14/2012 12:58 PM PDT
Reply Quote
Try to Launch as administrator the file Diablo III Launcher in C:/Program Files/Diablo III
Reply Quote
go into your computer into your your C drive where you installed it and delete your diablo 3 folder and then try the setup file again! it worked for me. this error scared the crap out of me. ive been waiting for this game for so long.
Reply Quote
Posts: 8
I have the same problem, thought it was from the digtal copy so went and bought a hard copy same problem. It does it soon as I click the icon so its not a router problem. And I ran it as a admin.
Reply Quote
look like digital copy was facing same problem.... anyone comment a good way to solve it ?
Reply Quote
Posts: 6
I'm still stuck. I'm about to call Tech Support and see what they say. I'll post the process if things work out.
Reply Quote
85 Night Elf Druid
5100
Posts: 2
I think i have the same problem that you have we have been trying to work it out but nothing would be very gratefull for any info you have anfter your call.
Reply Quote
85 Night Elf Druid
5100
Posts: 2
also mine poped up the first time and tried to download updates for about 30 sec and then goes to the error msg we found if wo go and delete the battle.net folder in program data and then try to install again instead of going strait to error msg it tries to do updates again for about 30sec before going to msg
Reply Quote
Same problem here.. Using standard edition CD installer. error message pops out at around 5% completion of Checking for updates ... who can help us now :(
Reply Quote

Please report any Code of Conduct violations, including:

Threats of violence. We take these seriously and will alert the proper authorities.

Posts containing personal information about other players. This includes physical addresses, e-mail addresses, phone numbers, and inappropriate photos and/or videos.

Harassing or discriminatory language. This will not be tolerated.

Forums Code of Conduct

Report Post # written by

Reason
Explain (256 characters max)
Submit Cancel

Reported!

[Close]