Diablo® III

Stuck on ''Updating setup files...'' (SOLVED)

90 Blood Elf Warlock
10215
Posts: 414
Hello.
I'm trying to install the game, I already downloaded it months ago. When I open the installer a small window appears saying ''Updating setup files...'' and the progress bar is about 33% done, However, it's stuck there and nothing else happens.
I tried disabling Kaspersky and launching the setup as admin, nothing works.

EDIT: Solved!
Alright I got it working by using legitpwnage's files.
Download this : http://www.gamefront.com/files/21699449/D3+-+Battle.net+Files.zip
And replace your Battle.net folder (in appdata) by this one, then open the setup.
It works 100%. :)

Have fun, See you in game tonight.
Edited by Nicotrol#1883 on 5/14/2012 2:03 PM PDT
Reply Quote
Try it out, worked for me, especially Tip 2 and 3.

http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/4008360977
Reply Quote
85 Dwarf Rogue
3520
Posts: 78
go into your program data and delete the old battlenet folder
Reply Quote
Worked for me also, thank you.
Reply Quote
Posts: 435
Didnt work for me....
Reply Quote
85 Blood Elf Paladin
7175
Posts: 22
Happening here. Tried every fix I've come across, to no avail.

Not sure what to do.
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Warlock
10215
Posts: 414
I tried deleting the Battle.net folder, but the problem still persists. Now, instead of being stuck at about 30%, the ''Updating setup files...'' is stuck at 60%... =/
Reply Quote
I presume you looked at the link I provided right after your initial post?
Reply Quote
Posts: 435
05/14/2012 11:59 AMPosted by Demogorgon1
I presume you looked at the link I provided right after your initial post?

i did, it didnt work for me
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Warlock
10215
Posts: 414
05/14/2012 11:59 AMPosted by Demogorgon1
I presume you looked at the link I provided right after your initial post?

yes I did.
My secondary logon service is set on manual, and I started it to test, and it does nothing.
And I deleted the Battle.net folder. Now the updating setup files is stuck at about 60%..
Reply Quote
Fair enough, mine was set to manual as well, so that wasn't my issue but was for many.

Have you tried making a manual Firewall rule (inbound) for the diablo III setup.exe file?
Reply Quote
Posts: 48
i had this issue, turned out to be something wrong with permissions. Ifixed it by making another user account(with admin priv) in the control panel, then installing the game from that profile. hope it works for you.
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Warlock
10215
Posts: 414
Ok now I can get the updating setup files to about 90% and then gets this error..
==============================================================================
Agent: (build 954)

Exe: C:\ProgramData\Battle.net\Agent\Agent.954\Agent.exe
Time: May 14, 2012 3:28:57.983 PM
User: Admin
Computer: ADMIN-PC
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This application has encountered a critical error:

ERROR #1 (0x13370001) Fatal Exception
Program: C:\ProgramData\Battle.net\Agent\Agent.954\Agent.exe
Exception: 0xC0000005 (ACCESS_VIOLATION) at 0023:76FA8DC9

The instruction at "0x76FA8DC9" referenced memory at "0x6666667A".
The memory could not be written.

Crashed Thread: 0x00002908

Project: 19130001
Build: 954
Project Name: Agent

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Warlock
10215
Posts: 414
I tried re-deleting the Battle.net folder and now I'm stuck at 60% again.. This is driving me crazy.
Can a blue answer this please?
Reply Quote
88 Troll Hunter
6275
Posts: 9
I have done everything, From making a new firewall rule to deleting the battle.net folder. I also have changed my logon stuff through the administrative tools. I am lost looks can anyone help
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Warlock
10215
Posts: 414
still nothing...
Reply Quote
Posts: 7
the secondary logon step worked for me, remember to start the service after u change the drop down list to manual or automatic.
Reply Quote
90 Blood Elf Warlock
10215
Posts: 414
Alright I got it working by using legitpwnage's files.
Download this : http://www.gamefront.com/files/21699449/D3+-+Battle.net+Files.zip
And replace your Battle.net folder (in appdata) by this one, then open the setup.
It works 100%. :)

Have fun, See you in game tonight.
Reply Quote
85 Undead Priest
2595
Posts: 15
Nothing works! Nicotrol's zip file didn't even properly work...

WE NEED A BLUE TO POST IN HERE
Nothing works!
Reply Quote

Please report any Code of Conduct violations, including:

Threats of violence. We take these seriously and will alert the proper authorities.

Posts containing personal information about other players. This includes physical addresses, e-mail addresses, phone numbers, and inappropriate photos and/or videos.

Harassing or discriminatory language. This will not be tolerated.

Forums Code of Conduct

Report Post # written by

Reason
Explain (256 characters max)
Submit Cancel

Reported!

[Close]