Diablo® III

Help with DPS

85 Draenei Priest
Im assuming I would do more damage as a witch doctor with a 2H weapon? I will be having a barb and monk with me 90% of time.
Reply Quote
87 Troll Druid
WDs are casters.
Reply Quote
85 Draenei Priest
Ok, but don't our dmging spells get based off our weapon? Im quite new to diablo so bear with me. =/
Reply Quote
87 Troll Druid
The bonuses (as well as the weapon's DPS) you'll be getting from equipping ceremonial daggers with mojos (off hand) will far outweigh the bonus from equipping a 2handed weapon at any point passed the first few levels.
Reply Quote
I was wondering the same thing. Do casters benefit from a weapon with greater DMG (2h of course would have the highest) ? Like your dogs benefit from a percentage of your dps.
Reply Quote
85 Draenei Priest
Well, idk about later, but I am running with a 2H weapon and my dmg is a decent amount higher then a 1h weapon, but I could see your point later punk
Reply Quote
05/15/2012 03:02 AMPosted by Jumal
Im assuming I would do more damage as a witch doctor with a 2H weapon? I will be having a barb and monk with me 90% of time.

I only played OpenBeta but will start my WD tonight. You want a good one hand weapon that supplements your main stat + HP. You also want the vodo shield, looks like a rag doll, with applicable stats.

You don't hit with your weapon you cast so you want stats that boost your casting powers.
Reply Quote
As i understand it your weapon damage is multiplied by your primary attribute (witch doctor = Intellect)

obviously early game a one handed item with intellect and a Mojo/SH off-hand will contributed more intellect than weapon damage but multiply the weapon damage creating greater spell damage output.

also it will be hard to find spell damage two handed weapons other than staffs via anything but crafting.

This information is not fact but its how i understand it at this stage although i don't know if there is a class bonus for using class specific items.

D