Diablo® III

Mac runs like trash....

Posts: 4,203
EDIT: NM... my post is outofdate.
Edited by axman#1422 on 5/19/2012 8:37 PM PDT
Reply Quote
I agree, im barely getting 12 FPS. I am going to try to fresh bootcamp install tomorrow and see if there is any improvement.

MacBook Pro
17-inch, Mid 2009

3.06GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
8GB 1067MHz DDR3
NVIDA GeForce 9400M 256MB
Mac OS X Lion 10.7.4
Reply Quote
05/15/2012 05:39 PMPosted by Ernie
Has anyone tried it with Virtualbox or Bootcamp with say just Windows XP to see if it runs any faster on the same Mac hardware?


I have given up on the mac client. Now I'm running off a Boot Camp partition with 64-bit Windows 7 installed. The difference is about 10fps , although the fps are not so important as the frequent dips/stalls in the mac client. Basically it cripples the mac version. The windows client is stable/playable at lowest settings/resolution (±30fps).

mid-2010 MBP, 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 8 GB 1067 MHz DDR3, NVIDIA GeForce 320M 256 MB, Mac OS X Lion 10.7.4 (11E53).
Edited by Ouroboros#2671 on 5/21/2012 12:04 AM PDT
Reply Quote
I have given up on the mac client. Now I'm running off a Boot Camp partition with 64-bit Windows 7 installed. The difference is about 10fps , although the fps are not so important as the frequent dips/stalls in the mac client. Basically it cripples the mac version. The windows client is stable/playable at lowest settings/resolution (±30fps).

mid-2010 MBP, 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 8 GB 1067 MHz DDR3, NVIDIA GeForce 320M 256 MB, Mac OS X Lion 10.7.4 (11E53).
That's odd, I have the Macbook White 2010 C2D 2.4ghz 4GB RAM and Nvidia 320M.
I'm able to play on native resolution on my 13" laptop screen, with highest textures and everything else on low or off.
The difference for me is that I reinstalled Lion onto my laptop about 2 weeks ago.
Reply Quote
Turned out it is a better experience when my wife was playing the game with her Macbook Air 11" on Lion. All settings are low or off with 1280x720 resolution, and it's getting 30 FPS most of the time (some time 10-20, a little bit lagging). While you have no expectation at all, you will feel better.
Reply Quote
I've only seen one post that even mentions changing resolutions. I have an early 2011 mbp and am getting consistently 35/40fps running the game at 720p. At 1080p it runs quiet sluggish, even small increases in the resolution can really effect performance.

I agree however I did expect much better performance with the game and I'm sure blizzard is addressing it.
Reply Quote
iMac 21.5 w/ lion 7.4
Resolution: 1920 by 1080 pixels
2.7GHz quad-core Intel Core i5 with 6MB on-chip shared L3 cache
8GB of 1333MHz DDR3 memory
AMD Radeon HD 6770M graphics processor with 512MB of GDDR5 memory

The game runs great on highest settings
Edited by TheJIT#1610 on 5/21/2012 7:22 PM PDT
Reply Quote
90 Undead Mage
12400
Posts: 9
Are you all not really seeing the correlation? Apple products have higher resolution screens mated with low end graphics cards. The only exception I have heard so far is the iMac with a 6970, but even with that the high native resolution will want you asking for more.

Also, others were correct, try Windows on your Apple product and you will see a huge difference too. DirectX is much better than OpenGL.

But mostly it's your high resolution screen tied to a horrible graphics card.
Reply Quote
Posts: 34
I run a 17 inch unibody from late 2009. Make sure you goings settings and energy saver and put it on faster instead of improved battery life. I get constant 40-50 fps
Reply Quote
Late 2008 Macbook (Unibody)
2.4 Core 2 Duo
4GB Ram
Geforce 9400M

On OS X and it is working well. I'm on an external monitor 1080P, but I have the settings at 1024x768 and low. I'm happy that it is working well. On the 13" display at 1280x800 and it ran very well on low settings. Looks good for me. I'm going to put 4 more gb of ram in to max it out at 8 and that should make it run just fine until I decide to get a pimped out macbook pro or the 27" iMac with the 2GB video card. Any questions, just ask.

Go Forth and Fight Evil!
Reply Quote
I'm running on its lowest settings and having little to no problems...too bad the game looks squishy...but still it IS playable:

Snow Leopard 10.6.8
2.3 GHz Core i5
4gb 1333 MHz DDR3
Intel integrated videocard, you know the score
Edited by fullfathom5#1751 on 5/26/2012 7:22 PM PDT
Reply Quote
85 Blood Elf Mage
2520
Posts: 2
Im running off a macbook pro intel core i5 2.53 myself and i just bought a cooling pad. I've played wow on the ibook back in the day and found that when running these high powered games the cooling system can't handle the heat. Since i added the cooling pad my comp still heats up.
Reply Quote
Works well on my Mid 2010 MBP - average 20 fps with MidHigh settings at 1680x1050.

Also i think it's been established for some time now that unless you're using an old Mac, it's not your Mac, it's the game optimization...and they're working on it.
Reply Quote
As of yesterday, before everything went bad, the game has been running perfectly smooth on my iMac (specifics below). When I get home today, if I can login and play, I will post back.

MacOS 10.7.4
CPU TYPE: Intel® Core™ i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz
CPU SPEED: 3.42 GHz
SYSTEM MEMORY: 32 GB
VIDEO CARD MODEL: AMD Radeon HD 6970M
VIDEO CARD MEMORY: 1 GB
DESKTOP RESOLUTION: 2560x1440
Reply Quote
81 Human Rogue
660
Posts: 1
i'm running the 2011 Macbook pro 15 with the AMD Radeon HD 6750
8GB of 1333MHz RAM
2.3GHz QUad Core i7
OSX Lion with all updates

Mine runs perfectly fine at 1680x1050. It does run better in Boot Camp Windows 7 64-bit, but I'm always over 30-40fps in OSX Lion.
Reply Quote
I said I would post back. No issues with lag at all.
Reply Quote
I imagine Blizzard is addressing this issue, so here's an update
Just thought i'd mention D3 running extremely poorly lately on my

2012 15" MBP
i7 2.2GHz
4G RAM
with ATI Radeon HD 6750M enabled with gfxcardstatus
energy saving on high performance

In full screen, regardless of settings, its choppy AND has heavy dips.

Windowed mode, condensed* as small as possible runs ok sort of (30-37) with lowest res, low texture, off shadows, high physics, off cluster density, anti-aliasing off, low-FX on

Its certainly something with the graphics/display as diablo 3 does not eat up much CPU at all on my machine (40-70% usually)
Edited by Nuada#1133 on 9/24/2012 11:20 AM PDT
Reply Quote
Support Forum Agent
Posts: 14,784
Have you've tried the Diablo III PTR to see if there is any improvements?
Edited by Machkhan on 9/24/2012 11:42 AM PDT
Reply Quote
I just got onto the PTR. It did not run well at suggested settings.

It ran smoother at 900x600 and all lowest options, but even then it wasn't flawless

EDIT: Could not get the frame-rate to show up with ctrl+R, i even re-bound the key and it still didnt show up
Edited by Nuada#1133 on 9/25/2012 7:37 PM PDT
Reply Quote

Please report any Code of Conduct violations, including:

Threats of violence. We take these seriously and will alert the proper authorities.

Posts containing personal information about other players. This includes physical addresses, e-mail addresses, phone numbers, and inappropriate photos and/or videos.

Harassing or discriminatory language. This will not be tolerated.

Forums Code of Conduct

Report Post # written by

Reason
Explain (256 characters max)
Submit Cancel

Reported!

[Close]