Diablo® III

Hesterry's Solo Inferno WD Guide

I have moved this guide to Google Docs for simplicity, organization, and ease of updating. For those who have read it in the old format, I've removed the guide from this thread, but didn't delete the posts. If you guys prefer the old format, I'll re-post it.

Link: https://docs.google.com/open?id=0BxtkoQdSGtg2cDdCTE9vUnVTTzQ

Here's an excerpt from the introduction:

"I am a Witch Doctor known as Hesterry. I have soloed all of Diablo 3 since normal, all the way through Inferno Diablo.

I am not an amazingly good player by any means – decent, I would say – my internet connection is “meh,” and my gear is only “reasonably good.” My point is this:

If I can solo Inferno as a Witch Doctor, so can just about anyone. I hope to illustrate how, for all who are interested.

The Purpose of This Guide

While I could write a guide on how to magic find effectively, blah blah blah... I'm going to avoid doing that, as I'm sure there are already tons of such guides that are better than I could write. Instead I'm going to focus on progression – how to get to Act 4 as quickly as possible. Therefore, I will talk very little on the concept of MF, how to fight elite packs (as they can be run past), and so on. Though, if there are enough requests for it, I may add a small section to each Act on farming recommendations – but I will NOT go in-depth.

Why not just farm as you go, or farm the easier/earlier Acts/bosses? Interestingly, this has the same answer as why you would want to farm such things – the loot. Blizzard has stated that each subsequent Act has a higher tier of loot. In other words, Act Four Inferno has better loot than Acts one, two, or three of Inferno. So, by getting to Act 4, and learning to farm it somewhat efficiently, you will be getting better, more valuable loot than you would by farming the earlier Acts.

Thus, progression in Inferno > farming – at least until you hit Act Three or four, with very few exceptions."