Diablo® III

Diablo III Common Issues & Troubleshooting

(Locked)

Support Forum Agent
Posts: 14,784
Hey there Mac Community!

This thread will be dedicated to some of the common technical issues that are being reported for Diablo III. If you do not see your issue being an common issue, check our Known Issues sticky prior to making a new thread for your topic :)
Edited by Machkhan on 6/12/2012 5:43 PM PDT
Support Forum Agent
Posts: 14,784
1. Black screens upon launch

Symptoms
When launching Diablo III, you experience a black screen but the game does not load.

Issue
This happens due to using an unsupported graphics card/chipset on your Mac.

Resolution
  • Make sure your graphics card/chipset meets the system requirements and is not listed on the supported section.
  • If you do have a supported graphics cards, please try some of our troubleshooting steps on our Diablo III Mac Performance/Video Troubleshooting page.
  • Edited by Machkhan on 5/16/2012 6:27 AM PDT
    Support Forum Agent
    Posts: 14,784
    2. Stuck at "Updating Setup Files"

    Symptoms
    When attempting to install Diablo III, you may experiencing getting stuck on the window "Updating Setup Files" for a long period of time.

    Resolution
  • Try deleting the Battle.net folder located in Users/Shared and attempt to run the installer again.
  • If you still experience hanging at the Updating Setup Files window, try some of the additional steps located in our Diablo III Mac Installation Troubleshooting page.
  • Edited by Machkhan on 5/16/2012 6:27 AM PDT
    Support Forum Agent
    Posts: 14,784
    3. "You can't open the applications Diablo III setup because it is not supported on this type of Mac."

    Symptoms
    When attempting to install, you get a prompt indicating this.

    Resolution
  • Make sure when you extract the installer from the zip file, you use Archive Utility.
  • If that didn't work, try the workaround here.
  • Edited by Machkhan on 5/16/2012 8:15 AM PDT
    Support Forum Agent
    Posts: 14,784
    4. "An unexpected Error has occurred"

    Symptoms
    When you attempted to install Diablo III, you receive an error stating:
    "An unexpected error occurred while trying to install. Please try again or contact Customer Support."

    Possible Issue
    You possibly have one of the following options enabled on your Mac:
  • FileVault
  • FileVault 2
  • Case-Sensitive formatted HDD
  • Case sensitive allows files of the same name but some difference in letter case to be in the same directory ("folder").

  • Resolution
    These options are not supported for installation on Mac OS X.
    Edited by Machkhan on 5/17/2012 4:48 PM PDT
    Support Forum Agent
    Posts: 14,784
    5. Low Performance

    Symptoms
    When playing Diablo III on a Mac client, you experience low performance during game play.

    Additional Information
    We're aware of the low performance reports and apologize about any frustrations it may have caused. Our teams are working on ways to help improve the Mac user experience. Read below on ways to help performance in the mean time.

    Ways to help improve your FPS/experience
  • Try playing at default settings and resolution. (You can delete the Diablo III folder in ~/Library/Application Support/Blizzard and this will reset all your game settings and resolutions).
  • Turn down/off Shadows
  • Check the "Low FX" checkbox in the Options menu.
  • Increase your system RAM
  • Close background applications
  • Restart your Mac. Restarting your Mac essentially clears your computer’s memory and starts it up fresh.
  • MacBook Pros that have dual graphics cards can set the Mac to always use the better performing graphics card. To learn how to do this see these Apple related articles:
  • MacBook Pro (15-inch, Late 2008), (17-inch, Early 2009), (15-inch and 17-inch, Mid 2009): How to set graphics performance
  • MacBook Pro (15-inch, Mid 2010) and later, MacBook Pro (17-inch, Mid 2010) and later: How to set graphics performance
  • Try additional steps listed in our Diablo III Low FPS/Performance article.
  • 9400M users: It is recommended to play the game with all settings low at the default resolution of 800x600 for optimal performance. We're working on ways to help improve gameplay on this chipset among other graphics cards/chipset as well.
  • Edited by Machkhan on 5/17/2012 4:52 PM PDT
    Support Forum Agent
    Posts: 14,784
    6. "You have been dropped from the game"/Error 3007 when you are logged in.

    Symptoms
    When playing the game, you experience the following error message(s)

    You have been dropped from the game
    and/or
    error 3007

    Resolution
  • Try joining the general chat channel.
  • Update your modem/router firmware
  • Directly connect to your modem

  • You can learn more about troubleshooting this error on our Error 3007 support page.
    Edited by Machkhan on 5/23/2012 4:01 PM PDT
    Support Forum Agent
    Posts: 14,784
    7. "Unable to initialize streaming" when installing

    Symptoms
      When attempting to install Diablo III, you receive the following error:

      ERROR: UNABLE TO INITIALIZE STREAMING. PLEASE CHECK YOUR INTERNET CONNECTION. IF THIS PROBLEM PERSISTS, PLEASE CONTACT BLIZZARD TECHNICAL SUPPORT. (INITIALIZE STREAMING)

    Issue
      You may have have an early version of Agent, in which Diablo III may be attempting to use, or on a Mac that has a case-sensitive formatted HDD.


    Resolution
    • Try deleting the Agent folder in Users/Shared/Battle.net and attempt to re-run the installer.
    • Check for a case-sensitive formatted HDD. This format is not supported for installation of Blizzard games.
    Edited by Machkhan on 5/22/2012 4:58 PM PDT
    Support Forum Agent
    Posts: 14,784
    8. Error 3007 when attempting to login.

    Symptoms
      When attempting to log into Diablo III, you experience the error 3007.

    Issue
      This seems to be related to Macs who are on DSL or Satellite connections. We're working on resolving the issue, but for the time being you may be able to use the workaround below.

    Workaround
    • Try switching to Google Public DNS and see if this helps. Many users reported switching to Googles DNS server has resolved the matter for the time being.
    • Other users have reported using a proxy service has resolved the this error as well. This is not supported by Blizzard but you may find additional information about configuring this in our Error 3007 thread here.
    Support Forum Agent
    Posts: 14,784
    9. "ERROR: The file ‘/Applications/Diablo III/Updates/d3-0-xxxx-OSX-final.MPQ’appears to be corrupt.”

    Symptoms
      When attempting to patch into Diablo III, you receive the following error:

      "ERROR: The file ‘/Applications/Diablo III/Updates/d3-0-xxxx-OSX-final.MPQ’appears to be corrupt. You may need to download this file again.”

    Issue
      The file was corrupted upon download.

    Resolution
    • Delete the file it references. This is located in the Updates folder in the Diablo III directory.
    This topic is locked.

    Please report any Code of Conduct violations, including:

    Threats of violence. We take these seriously and will alert the proper authorities.

    Posts containing personal information about other players. This includes physical addresses, e-mail addresses, phone numbers, and inappropriate photos and/or videos.

    Harassing or discriminatory language. This will not be tolerated.

    Forums Code of Conduct

    Report Post # written by

    Reason
    Explain (256 characters max)
    Submit Cancel

    Reported!

    [Close]