Diablo® III

My issues with the WD

This is intended to be constructive feedback, not QQing or whatever. I am also far from an expert, so if you think I'm wrong and its a matter of finding a better build or get better gear, please tell me. I am currently in Hell, have not reached Inferno yet.

It's really two main concerns.

1. Mana. I have now brought a second class up through nightmare, a wizard, and he never has resource issues and is doing much better overall. My WD, on the other hand, is constantly out of mana. From reading the forums, it's not just me either. Using one of dire bats/acid cloud/locust swarm/zombie charger/etc plus a GotD expels my mana so fast it has caused many a death for me. And this is without PtV.

2. Pets. I tried to convince myself (and other people at times) in beta that pets would be fine, they'd scale, they weren't meant to tank bosses all day, etc etc. But let's just call a spade a spade: our pets suck. Gargantuan is somewhat decent through normal and can actually survive some of the boss encounters. Not in NM and beyond. And Zombie dogs, holy cow, they don't stay up for more than 1 swarm of regular monsters in Act 4 of normal, let alone anywhere else or bosses/champions.. and this is while built with passives to buff them! What a waste. If you use Hedge Magic it helps them in norm, but even then in NM they die so fast there is nothing you can do. Sacrifice is a nice way to get damage out of them, but the 60 second cooldown makes this not practical in NM/Hell for me. IMO they were meant to be passive dps/distractions that don't need to be recast every 2 seconds, and they clearly are not fulfilling that role.

Pet peeves: