Diablo® III

Would you, or wouldn't you?

Hi all,

I'm a South Australian resident currently holidaying in the USA.
I've been over here for a while now, but before I left Australia I had the chance to TRY to play D3 for a few weeks.
I, like everyone else in Australia, had a poor play experience due to the severe fluctuating lag.
Whilst not necessary to mention, I work for an ISP (Internet service provider), so I know the lag issues have nothing to do with my connection or Australia's Internet but rather the more obvious issue of simply being too a great distance from our local PC's to server's based (uncomprehendingly) in the USA.

Disappointingly the lag makes this game not unplayable, but unenjoyable. I've played many many online games and never before have I put up with in-game lag of 200ms or more. EVER. I don't think any serious gamer would.
For me (and I'm sure many others) sub 50ms is the goal. Between 50ms and 100ms is often acceptable. Anything greater and there must be a network issue, congestion issue, or programming issue and we stop playing and rectify it. Simple.

It's a damn shame since the game itself is pretty cool.

Anyway, back to the reason for this post. I am now in the United States. I have acess to a fat Internet connection. I'm thinking to myself "do I play D3 or not?"

If I do, and the ping is low - like sub 50ms - I know it'll be a damn fun time and I'll love the game.
However, since I will never be able to play it that way once I'm back home in Adelaide, the game will be ruined for me.

If I don't play it over here, whilst I may never get to play the game as it was intended for the few short weeks I'm here, I will at least be able to come home and play it - albeit lagily - but as they say, ignorance is bliss.

I'm so torn! What would you do?
Reply Quote