Diablo® III

Reason behind my RMAH account lock explained

Follow up and update at http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/5977979900

After having my account locked up for 12 days, finally I was able to reach blizzard's support to get an answer as to why my account was suddenly suspended after purchasing an item from the RMAH.

First, let me describe the steps I took that let to my account's lock up. I've been playing Blizzard products for at least 10 years now and never had a problem before RMAH. 14 days ago, I deposited $200 into my bnet balance. After 1 day of review, it was approved and the balance added to my bnet account. I then went to the RMAH to purchase some gear. The first few items I bought went through without trouble, and then all of a sudden, my account was suspended (locked). The subsequent email I received stated:

--------------------------------------------
This Diablo III account has been locked due to an auction-related issue. Until this issue is resolved, the account will be unavailable for play. Access to the Diablo III auction house is restricted until the account is unlocked.

Contact Account Administration to recover access to the account: http://battle.net/support/article/5400055.

I thought there must have been some kind of mistake. I used the RMAH legitimately, why would this happen? I then opened a ticket to get this issue resolved, and after 36 hours, this is what they responded:

I have investigated your account and I'm happy to report your account is not banned. Currently your account is locked because it failed an audit review when attempting to use the Real Money Auction House (RMAH) and we need to verify account ownership. If you have secured your email and computer go ahead and follow the steps below and we can work on getting your account unlocked!