Diablo® III

FPS Drop All The Sudden

So ive been running diablo fine on my macbook pro for two months now, i have the top of the line mac and trust me it worked great for the game until today.
I logged on and about 5 min later got huge fps drop, the whole game slowed down to about 5 fps.
I have tried:
Trilinearfiltering to "1"
All low resolution and settings
Machineclass to "1"
Deleting D3Prefs.txt all together
Updating mac, graphics card ect.
Resetting PRAM and SMC
Deleting Cache
Deleting Adobe Flash/ reinstalling
Cleaned the dust out
Tried deleting all unneeded patch/report errors
Set ChannelsToUse to "16"

Whenever I restart my computer it fixes it for about 5 min then the FPS drops again, I know im running a mac but it has been running it for over two month just great.
Any suggestions would be very welcome thanks.
Edited by Joust#1208 on 7/28/2012 3:21 PM PDT
Reply Quote
That's a classic sign of over heating. Video card is probably over heating and or cpu. try blowing air in the vents and see if that helps to knock loose some dust. Also place your hand at differnet points around the laptop and see if it feel rather warm or possibly hot. You might have to bring it into the shop and have them take a look at the system. But most likely its clogged vents and the cpu and video card normally share a heat pipe and vent. So hopefully blowing air into it fixes that issue.
Reply Quote
^ forgot to mention i took it apart and cleaned out the dust, im a electronics engineer so im qualified lol
Reply Quote
As evilorc said, sounds like overheating. Most processors these days, be it the CPU or GPU, have a throttle to drastically reduce the performance of the processor when it hits a certain temperature. I run into this problem all the time when trying to push my GPU / CPU overclocking higher.
Reply Quote
all my problems went away when I put my max fps to 50 in the game settings. try it, D3 runs smooth as silk now.
Reply Quote