Diablo® III

Question For Retina Diablo 3

Posts: 340
What resolution do you use now with the new 1.04 update if u have a Retina MacBook Pro? I saw that before it offered the 2880x1440 resolution that is the retina display, but now that is no longer offered as far as I can tell from the menus.
Reply Quote
Blizzard Employee
Posts: 14,784
Try Window (Fullscreen) to see if you can play at 2880 x 1400.
Reply Quote
Posts: 340
Nope, the closest I can get is still 2880 x 1750.
Reply Quote
Blizzard Employee
Posts: 14,784
I'll send this up to the team for review. Thanks for the report.
Reply Quote
Posts: 340
Thanks.
Reply Quote
Blizzard Employee
Posts: 14,784
I've touched base with one of our guys, and 2880 x 1750 is better, but it should match the desktop display for retina 'Best (Retina)' and set it to 2350x1470 or 1920x1200. What is your desktop display set to?
Edited by Machkhan on 8/21/2012 10:08 AM PDT
Reply Quote
Is it recommended we match the desktop resolution? Or should we run the game at a higher resolution? Simple preference?
Reply Quote
Blizzard Employee
Posts: 14,784
I touched base with one of our QA guys that tests these, and he stated you should set the desktop resolution to 'Best (Retina)' and set the game resolution to 2350x1470 or 1920x1200.

The game will look gorgeous enough on those resolutions.
Edited by Machkhan on 8/21/2012 10:25 AM PDT
Reply Quote
Thank you!
Reply Quote
Posts: 340
OK the errand of changing my desktop resolution and restarting the game with that setting now offers the correct retina display resolution in the menus which is (and I correct myself)
2880 x 1800 resolution.

I normally am running on the "more space" scaled resolution in system preferences which is the 1920 x 1200 setting.

When I start up the game with those settings In the menu or login window the only resolutions I can select is :

960x600
1630x1020
2090x1310
2470x1540
2880x1750
3090x1930
3360x2100
3840x2400

When I start up the game with the 1680 x 1050 desktop resolution the game offers:

960x930
1490x930
1870x1170
2190x1370
2470x1540
2720x1700
2950x1840
3360x1200

All of these 16:10 aspect ratio.

Changing one's desktop resolution seem to alter the resolution options in the game.

It seems changing desktop resolution to 1440x900 or "best for retina display fixes the problem of no 2880 x 1800.

I would just suggest that it not be necessary to change one's desktop resolution in order to reach the 2880x1800 native retina resolution, but have game resolutions independent from desktop resolutions (at least while fullscreen), if thats possible.
Edited by Mediscape#1594 on 8/21/2012 11:00 AM PDT
Reply Quote
Blizzard Employee
Posts: 14,784
There is a bug for resolutions if you get it to the more space option. This is something we're aware of and are looking into.
Reply Quote
How is the game running now with full retina support. Really trying to decide between the new air and the mbpr today
Reply Quote
I just patched up and got in using the 2350x1470 resolution suggested by Machkhan. Everything is high except Shadows (I have set to Low Smooth) and am getting consistent 35-40 fps in Act II. And I was running Chrome, Citrix, TextMate and Terminal in the background. I'm pleased. (I have the out-of-the-box $2799 model, see AppleInsider.com price guide for best prices.)
Reply Quote
Posts: 340
I must say I cannot stand resolutions below 2880 x 1800. So I deal with low frame rate instead. It may be better in bootcamp windows (but I did not notice last time I tried in my lion install with latest beta drivers [which u have to use a sort of cut and past hack to install, and must if u play in windows] ) but I set everything except texture to low and enabled low fx option and frame rate still drops to below 10 in fights. Average is about 20 highest 25. Dips down to 3.

I have the 2.7/16gb/512 BTO model.

OK NVM I needed to restart...

I restarted and FPS is a bit better... High textures, high physics, high clutter, low smooth shadows. No AA no Low FX Framerate 2880x1800 resolution with about 20-30 fps in battles...

Dips below 10 FPS when large landscape objects are on the screen...
Edited by Mediscape#1594 on 8/21/2012 1:55 PM PDT
Reply Quote
85 Human Mage
8680
Posts: 10
I am also having this problem. The option to use 2880 x 1800 disappeared in 1.0.4. Please fix it soon!
Reply Quote
Blizzard Employee
Posts: 14,784
09/10/2012 07:38 PMPosted by Zaradys
I am also having this problem. The option to use 2880 x 1800 disappeared in 1.0.4. Please fix it soon!

What is your desktop display settings set to? Is this set to Best, More Space, or is it scaled?
Reply Quote
85 Human Mage
8680
Posts: 10
Thanks for your reply. I use the More Space setting always. Setting it to "Best" and restarting Diablo did in fact allow me to access the 2880 x 1800 resolution.
Reply Quote
I touched base with one of our QA guys that tests these, and he stated you should set the desktop resolution to 'Best (Retina)' and set the game resolution to 2350x1470 or 1920x1200.

The game will look gorgeous enough on those resolutions.


@Mackhan: whatever desktop resolution i try (Best, more space), I never get a game resolution of 1920 x 1200. As mentioned by Mediscape, only 16:10 resolutions are offered.
Appreciate the help!
Reply Quote
As mentioned by Mediscape, only 16:10 resolutions are offered.
Appreciate the help!


1920x1200 is a 16:10 resolution, as is the 2880x1800 resolution which is native to the Retina display. Selecting whichever resolution is nearest to the one you previously used should yield pleasant results.

________________________________________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in General Forums Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.
Reply Quote
When is this resolution bug for Retina Displays if set on More Space option going to be addressed? This bug was introduced with an update, with a previous release I did not have this problem (when the laptop came out in mid 2012)?
Edited by Step#2856 on 2/12/2013 12:16 AM PST
Reply Quote

Please report any Code of Conduct violations, including:

Threats of violence. We take these seriously and will alert the proper authorities.

Posts containing personal information about other players. This includes physical addresses, e-mail addresses, phone numbers, and inappropriate photos and/or videos.

Harassing or discriminatory language. This will not be tolerated.

Forums Code of Conduct

Report Post # written by

Reason
Explain (256 characters max)

Reported!

[Close]