Diablo® III

Angel and Demon Summoning -- Story Effects

I am not really a lore expert so that's why I am asking.

With the recent patch, players are given the chance to have the ability to summon Angels and Demons through Legendaries..

The question: are Nephalems allowed to do that? I mean, they should be against demons and, maybe, angels... What is the effect of that in the story? Are those demons and/or angels being summoned somehow like Tyrael in a way? Or are they summoned using magic that may or may not be forbidden?
Reply Quote
The ability to summon angels is bound to the weapon, armor, or piece of jewelry. Our heroes don't know how to do it on their own. Not that they wouldn't have the ability to if they bothered to learn the right spells.

Demonic summoning is a known art in Sanctuary, spearheaded by the earlier philosophies of the Vizjeri Mage Clan. Of the forbidden magics that can get on the Viz-jaq'taar's, or more colloquially known as Mage Slayers or Assassin's, hit list, demonic summoning is probably at the very top. I seriously doubt though that anything story-wise will be bothered by it. It doesn't necessarily violate the lore, but it messes it up a bit in a way. But I'm ok with that. If a monk claw, on the other hand, had a demonic summon attached it, well then I think my gears would be ground enough to care.

Angelic summoning is.. pretty much unheard of. I don't know if you can summon an angel the same way you can a demon, but I can tell you that there are no reports of it being done as of now. The weapon that does this, Skycutter, is in fact an instrument of Heaven itself which makes a bit more sense than if its origin was Sanctuary.
Reply Quote
Thanks for the response. :)