Diablo® III

Ideas for more skill customization

I have been craving a way for more customization since I started playing Diablo 3. With the lack of a skill/talent tree to make several choices, it just feels limited and kind of bland. I'm enjoying the game but I constantly think about how much more fun I could have if I had more options for my hero. It got me thinking and I passed on a couple ideas to people I know and got some really positive responses from them and thought I should share them on the forums.

As I leveled up, I wondered why passive choices stopped at level 30. Why not let us choose more at 40, 50, and 60? It would broaden our choices and allow more customization for our characters. It would also let us pick up some of the more offensive oriented passives over the "mandatory" defensive passives. It would also help with some of Blizzard's goals they seem to be aiming for: We would get more build diversity and a power boost to help us in inferno. No need to nerf inferno when you can buff our heroes AND give us some options to play with. A win-win situation for all.

My next idea is a little more complicated. I think to help broaden our choices (sometimes boring choices...) with rune selection on abilities we should be able to have 2 runes per skill. How the heck are we gonna do that? There are several ways to do it, but I'm thinking something along the lines of giving us a "primary rune" and a "secondary rune" for each ability. So we could pick an ability altering rune for the primary and a more passive and kinda boring rune for the secondary. Examples:

On barbarian's Cleave we could choose Rupture or Scattering Blast as a primary and Reaping Swing, Broad Sweep, or Gathering Storm as a secondary. Or maybe move one or the other from primary to secondary. It's just an example.

Another example: Wizard's Arcane Orb could choose Arcane Orbit, Obliteration, or Arcane Nova as a primary and Tap the Source or Celestial Orb as a secondary.