Diablo® III

Appropriate amount of attack speed?

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to WW Barb but so far he's pretty sweet. Quite the efficient fella. I'm wondering about attack speed though. I've got a decent amount and am curious about the benefits of it other than just DPS on the stat sheet.
For each IAS point I add like 500 DPS, but each CC adds 1100. Would I be better off trying to convert some of these IAS stats into CC, or are there other benefits to attack speed besides DPS?
Do tornados tick more often with higher attack speed?
Are more tornados created with higher attack speed?
Does higher attack speed make WW attacks hit more often, dealing more dmg, and thus stealing more life?
I'm having a hard time determining these things and I'm sure someone has already figured this out. I'd love to hear it.
Thanks!
Reply Quote
CC is valuable to WW because crit = fury. IAS is valuable because more attacks per second = more chances to crit and more overall DPS. CC will ideally be 50% or higher when fully buffed. CC can't be too high. Once you reach that level, you want as much attack speed as possible. IAS can't be too high. The only limitation on CC and IAS is really your budget.

Your CC is too low right now. You will gain more fury and do more DPS if you up it. Looking at your gear, your next upgrades should be at least one of the following, preferably two: a Hellfire ring with 4+ CC, bracers with 4+ CC, or helm with 4+ CC. Also, try Overpower - Killing Spree instead of Warcry, and see if you can stay alive. With your fast offhand, you can give up a bit of IAS to get more CC, if necessary, and not compromise the build.
Reply Quote
Thanks and I agree that I need more CC. Budget is the main reason I dont have CC on my Lacunis or Mempo. I realize my build would be better overall with more CC, even at the expense of some IAS, but really I'm looking for a guide or details on how IAS affects the WW build specifically. Thanks.
Reply Quote