Diablo® III

Installation Questions For Complete Noob

Hi All

So sorry if i'm not supposed to ask here. So basically i have just bought a dvd copy of this game for my Mac. So all i did was put the game into the dvd drive. To be honest nothing popped up so i had to click Diablo 3 Setup by going to Finder. I did get to the installation screen, clicked agree and it asked me for activation. I don't have a Battle.net account and have not done anything before relating to Diablo (demo, beta etc), so logically i would click activate. I then went through the Battle.net registration process. All was well. The game started installing whilst i did all the account stuff. I ended up downloading the game client. The installation took a very long time. It said "updating files" and took about half an hour in all. It did complete in the end and i saw the cinematics etc. So my questions are the following:

1) was i right to click activate and not "i've already activated"
2) what is the game client for? Do i have to click it now?
3) Should the installation have taken so long?
4) for mac users, how would i play the game once i've exited? By going to finder?

Many thanks,
Edited by Darkuser999#2783 on 11/8/2012 1:56 AM PST
Reply Quote
- Technical Support
90 Human Priest
I'll help you out here.

1) Since you had not yet created a Battle.net account and/or entered your Diablo 3 activation key into the Battle.net Account, you did in fact perform the correct step here.

2) I'm assuming the game client you are referring to is situated in /Applications/Diablo III/. If so, that is the game client you want to use. You will be using the Diablo III Launcher to launch the game, as that will also check for updates whenever you use it. While launching the Diablo III game client itself just runs the Launcher anyway, you shouldn't launch that game client directly, as it can occasionally cause launching issues. Always run the Launcher when you want to play Diablo 3.