Diablo® III

Software Engineer's ideas to get rid of bots

(Locked)

To whom it may concern,

I really hope this note gets to the right people working in Blizzard. As a reference, I am a senior software engineer in a fortune 50 company, and I hope the Diablo 3 community & software engineers in blizzard will seriously consider my ideas and implement if necessary.

1. Protect your game data with collision detection. (The bots should not be able to read memory managed by D3 w/o triggering red flags to warden.)

2. Do an analysis of mouse / key movements/keypress-keyup event speeds. If relative movements are too quick, flag it / do a review, add to bad wave list.

3. Do a captsha check for every hour after 8 hours of play time (along with a nice note saying excessive playing is hazardous to your health).

Seriously, there are hundreds of people who are making 2K USD+ using bots. Running it 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

If you really care about integrity of the game, use manpower to solve the problem if you have to. This is no longer some 'virtual items', it is a real problem.
1 Draenei Warrior
I guess they don't teach you the correct spelling of captcha until you become a senior senior software engineer. :p
Bah, pick on little things, sure I made some spelling errors because I was typing it up, without any proof reading.

But I just want to say bots are a real issue, and it is fightable. I don't understand such a slow turn-around in Blizzard. Having many bots, go undetected.

It came to a point where it is stupid to not be running a bot. Where is the fun in that?
badb0y, I am making some suggestions that I believe Blizzard should implement to fight bot abusers, bot makers, etc.

You are right, some things do end up messing up the game for the legit players, but blatant botting is what is making me feel uncomfortable with this use.