Diablo® III

The Freeze Barb Build

This is my first time ever posting on these forums, so forgive me if someone has already posted on a similar build. I do not claim to be anywhere near the best, but my Barbarian can easy the ubers on Monster Power 5 without ever getting below half health and I didn't need hundreds of millions of gold to accomplish this. My build is basically the double whirlwind build with an emphasis on getting as high of chance to freeze as possible. Unfortunately, this limits the build to a few certain items. Still if you can reach the max freeze chance possible at 27.8% you will find that this build is frighteningly good.

Skills:
-Whirlwind, with hurricane rune
-Frenzy with maniac or vanguard (if you want even more mobility)
-Warcry with Impunity
-Sprint with run like the wind
-Wrath of the Beserker with Thrive on Chaos
-Battlerage with into the fray

Passives:
-Ruthless
-Bloodthirst
-Tough as nails/nerves (depends on your vitality)

Other options could be weapons master, ruthless, or superstition for people with low resist issues.

Gear: This is an extremely gear dependent build, and to reach the max freeze chance you must use very specific gear.

Weapon: Azurewrath, there is no substitute for the barb who wants to make ice sculptures out of ubers. 15% (Mine is 14.6%) max freeze chance and 21% max increased attack speed are great for this build. There is no life on hit, but you will get your life on hit from other gear and hopefully if you have over 20% freeze you wont be getting hit too often, as the nados from sprint proc freeze.

Shield: Any Rare/Legendary with 2.6% freeze chance or close to it. Stormshields can have chance to freeze, but I personally use a rare that gives more crit chance. Anything over 2% freeze chance is serviceable, mine currently has 2.5% chance to freeze.