Diablo® III

A Bayesian statistical analysis of key drops

90 Worgen Druid
TLDR:

If you play n games, and find k keys, and assume that you don't believe Blizzard's claims about drop rates, the Bayesian estimate of the drop rate is:

(1+k)/(2+n)

Beyond that, I also show how to calculate the probability that the drop rate is or is not within a particular range (i.e whats the chance the rate actually is between 0.2 and 0.4 as Blizzard claims for mp 3, given what you have observed).

Estimating key drop rates is a text-book example of Bayesian statistics in what is called the "Beta-Binomial" model.

---------------

In this post, I discuss the statistics of estimating key drop rates. This seems like a subject of interest to the players of diablo 3, so hopefully this post can help to clarify the discussion. I am a graduate student in computer science/statistics.

We will assume a player sets mp 3 (for example), then collects 5 stacks of NV, and kills the key warden, then records whether a key dropped or not. We will repeat this process over multiple games. First, note that the outcome from each game is independent of every other games (what happens in one game doesn't depend on what happened in any other games).

Let us define some random variables and parameters:

n = the number of games played (a known constant)
k = the number of keys found out of n games (a random variable, which we observe through the experiment)
p = the probability of a key dropping (an unknown parameter that we are trying to estimate)

An appropriate statistical model for this experiment is to say that

k ~ Binomial(n, p)

In words, the distribution of k is binomial with parameters n and p. For more info on a Binomial distribution, check out Wikipedia.