Diablo® III

AUSSIE PLAYERS 12/12 3007 cant log in ?

dns change works for me
so d problem is not about sing server not up?
or was d sing server up n blizzard was lying?
again, good job...
Changing the DNS worked, though my connection is now very slow.

Is there a solution for this?
changed dns settings to 8 8 8 8 and still not allowing me to log in. im from sydney. and when i do get in i do one search on the ah and then it drops me
MVP - Technical Support
Posts: 1,114
View profile
12/11/2012 02:53 PMPosted by Tuwarwego
To change my DNS, its asking for subnet mask??? Whats that?

Don't put anything there. You should still have it set to obtain your IP address automatically. Only the DNS should be set to manual.
________________________________________________
Tech Support MVP
"...and, we're back!" -Google
MVP - Diablo III
Posts: 8,198
View profile
12/11/2012 02:55 PMPosted by Spus
the Dns switch works playing now, just wondering once the issue is fixed, should i switch back?


It's really upto you, I know people who use googles DNS all the time since it has very little downtime, but also some people say your ISP's DNS can mean quicker webpage loading times.

Kinda personal preference, keeping googles won't hurt but either will changing it back.
________________________________________________
Twitter: @Narull | ANZ Diablo III MVP
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/6490399005 - Narull's Hardcore Challenge.
There not spelling mistakes, Im speaking 'Ye Old English'
Posts: 1
It is down but i can confirm using googles public dns will fix it
for those of you who dont know the details are
Primary : 8.8.8.8
Secondary: 8.8.4.4
90 Tauren Warrior
5765
Posts: 3
Thank You, that vid was really helpful and it works.

Thanks again
MVP - Diablo III
Posts: 8,198
View profile
Changing the DNS worked, though my connection is now very slow.

Is there a solution for this?


Your connection is slower because it is using the different DNS to resolve websites, if this happens its best to just use googles while playing D3 until your ISPs is updated, then you can just change back to your normal one.
________________________________________________
Twitter: @Narull | ANZ Diablo III MVP
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/6490399005 - Narull's Hardcore Challenge.
There not spelling mistakes, Im speaking 'Ye Old English'
MVP - Diablo III
Posts: 8,198
View profile
12/11/2012 02:59 PMPosted by BodySnatcher
and for those of us who are computer !@#$ing literate what the hell is changing the DNS


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xdQkPVL2ERg

or

Changing DNS server settings on Microsoft Windows 7

Go the Control Panel.
Click Network and Internet, then Network and Sharing Center, and click Change adapter settings.
Select the connection for which you want to configure Google Public DNS. For example:
To change the settings for an Ethernet connection, right-click Local Area Connection, and click Properties.
To change the settings for a wireless connection, right-click Wireless Network Connection, and click Properties.
If you are prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or provide confirmation.
Select the Networking tab. Under This connection uses the following items, select Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4) or Internet Protocol Version 6 (TCP/IPv6) and then click Properties.
Click Advanced and select the DNS tab. If there are any DNS server IP addresses listed there, write them down for future reference, and remove them from this window.
Click OK.
Select Use the following DNS server addresses. If there are any IP addresses listed in the Preferred DNS server or Alternate DNS server, write them down for future reference.
Replace those addresses with the IP addresses of the Google DNS servers:
For IPv4: 8.8.8.8 and/or 8.8.4.4.
For IPv6: 2001:4860:4860::8888 and/or 2001:4860:4860::8844
Restart the connection you selected in step 3.
Test that your setup is working correctly; see Testing your new settings below.
Repeat the procedure for additional network connections you want to change.

*Thanks to previous posters for posting these.
________________________________________________
Twitter: @Narull | ANZ Diablo III MVP
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/6490399005 - Narull's Hardcore Challenge.
There not spelling mistakes, Im speaking 'Ye Old English'
the server gose down for 10 hours plus and then this...glad were with a comp that care's
Thx Narull, but it didnt help me, it wasn't able to stream or I missed something in the process.
12/11/2012 02:58 PMPosted by Taross
changed dns settings to 8 8 8 8 and still not allowing me to log in. im from sydney. and when i do get in i do one search on the ah and then it drops me


Likewise.
MVP - Diablo III
Posts: 8,198
View profile
Did you change your DNS to 8.8.8.8 and secondary to 8.8.4.4 ?
________________________________________________
Twitter: @Narull | ANZ Diablo III MVP
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/6490399005 - Narull's Hardcore Challenge.
There not spelling mistakes, Im speaking 'Ye Old English'
Ok tried that and it works now so I will stop swearing
CAN ppl log in yet still 3007 on connection for me gay as ;-)
I couldnt get on either but watched this and did what it said now Im on
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xdQkPVL2ERg
Ok thx for the Video...I'm now in thanks Narull, was putting it in the wrong area
This topic has reached its post limit. You may no longer post or reply to posts for this topic.

Please report any Code of Conduct violations, including:

Threats of violence. We take these seriously and will alert the proper authorities.

Posts containing personal information about other players. This includes physical addresses, e-mail addresses, phone numbers, and inappropriate photos and/or videos.

Harassing or discriminatory language. This will not be tolerated.

Forums Code of Conduct

Report Post # written by

Reason
Explain (256 characters max)
Submit Cancel

Reported!

[Close]