Diablo® III

New Slayer Seeking Advice!

Hello Folks,

I'm new to the Diablo World, but since I heard so much about it, I went out and purchased Diablo 3 about 2 weeks ago.. I have two characters; a Barbarian (Currently playing Hell with monster power at 0 @ lvl 51) and a Demon Hunter (lvl 42).. My game play follows that of the AD&D style, since those are the games I primarily have played (Neverwinter Nights 1 & 2, Baulders Gate 1 & 2, Eye of the Beholder, Elder Scrolls I thru V and the likes), but I find Diablo 3 to be quite different in that you must go through the same areas repeatedly in order to acquire quality gear, but just different difficulty levels..

Anyway, I have a couple of quick questions:
1. At what point should I start to acquire armor/weapon "SETS"?
2. At what point will I start to acquire weapons with a 500+ score? So far the best I have found is a 2 handed weapon rated at 200 after filling the single available socket..
3. I am trying to build up my Blacksmith, but the pages to fill the book are hard to find.. My Jeweler is stuck, since I need to acquire books in order to progress, but I have only found pages thus far.. How can I find the books needed for the Jeweler and more pages for the Blacksmith?
4. My Barbarian has only acquired 2 Legendary items so far (chest piece and belt), all other pieces are just "Rare", I have NO blue pieces mixed in.. My weapons being used ae "rare" as well.. Are there Legendary Weapons?
5. In my readings here I keep seeing the term "Farming".. What is this and is it useful?
6. I do not plan on using the Auction House..