Diablo® III

Finding MP5+ to be difficult

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to Monk class and built my monk based on few threads and etc. I find it difficult to do anything over MP5.. not sure if it's AR or Armor or just the way I play. I don't think it's the LOH/LS as I have secodary mace with 400LOH/2.9%LS and still get crushed. Is this norm playing a monk?

Considering swapping few pieces out to see if it'll cure the "getting crushed" problem of mine. any recommendations will be appreciated.
Reply Quote
Looks good to me.
Reply Quote
Your monk its pretty decent. I reckon you should be able to do MP5 well.

What are you having trouble with though?

IMO you aren't making the most of combination strike, I would substitute that out for resolve, or Beacon of Ytar
Reply Quote
RD/molten mobs along with those freezing mobs. I guess I'm more used to WoTB with Barb so once i'm frozen or trapped... i'm dead.
Reply Quote
ahhhh. I see. Yea that's a pretty specific problem. 1.0.7 will lower molten and change RD packs, so hang tight on upgrading.

As a monk, you cant just stand there unless you have a lot of resists and hp regen of some kind (if you did this, then DPS will be lower)

If you feel that you want a solution, go look for a low DPS EF with LS and high LoH. That's what I have on me at all times for that particular affix.

Use serenity if bust out of frozen, but use it only if you really need it.

Monks are a bit more refined than the "spin to win" play style of barbarians.
Edited by Weegee#6520 on 1/21/2013 6:56 PM PST
Reply Quote
470AR + 4.6k armor is low. Try to work it up to 600AR + 5k armor
as for current 1.06 RD, don't mouse-press-down-all-the-way on them, you need to kite and find white mobs as buffer. Your APS is high enough to have backfire on RD.
avoid all the ground effects whenever you can. prepare Serenity and pops it when needed.
Reply Quote