Diablo® III

A few questions about my barb leveling...

Im still pretty new to D3. Ive finished my first run through on normal, which was zero challenge. I just got to Act 2 on Nightmare, and Im still cruising through with little trouble, but I have a question or two about what I should be doing as far as followers and gemming.

Right now, I put the most powerful strength gems i can in my weapons, and then put mostly +Vit gems in everything else until i feel like I have enough health and then throw more STR gems in. Is that the best way to do it?

Also, I have played around with all 3 followers, and found the Enchantress' CC spells to be the most helpful. What stats should I be equipping her with when it comes to her gear? I have figured out I dont get her vitality bonuses, but do I get her +XP bonus? I assume I do, but Im not positive.

As far as my weapons, is there anything I should look for while dual wielding? Should I have a faster main hand or off hand? Specific stats besides the obvious STR, VIT, +XP while leveling?
Reply Quote
For gemming on weapons, Rubies are the best for a damage increase while leveling up. At level 60, this changes to Emeralds for the Crit damage. A topaz in the helm for Magic Find or an Amethyst in the helm for Health at level 60 depending on which you prefer, and a Ruby in the helm for experience while leveling to 60, or for leveling Paragon at 100. Socket rubies if you are content with HP (magic number was around 40k when I was playing more a few months ago) or Amethyst if you want more health.

The Enchantress or Templar is the merc. of choice for me. I use Enchantress for the attack speed buff and CC and the Templar for Magic Find. Scoundrell is a damage buff as well, but I prefer the Enchantress for my build.