Diablo® III

Fuzzy's LpSS guide thread!

Hello people,

For a long time now i've been using LpSS as my main form of life sustain. Long story short, i've always been a rather poor fella and when i started playing it seemed to me that the best compromise when it came to budget/DPS was to ignore costier sustains such as LoH (back in the days of 1.03, LS was hardly considered viable and then only to the highest DPS'ers). Indeed, weapons and helms with LpSS seemed to cost MUCH less than their mainstream LoH counter parts. This still holds true as i am writting this guide and is one of the big factors that drove me to share my view on LpSS.

First-hand i'd like to answer some of the concerns/questions that are always thrown to my face whenever i try to make the eulogy of LpSS.

-But Fuzzy, does LpSS ON ITS OWN do as good a job at generating HP as the other options?!

The answer is, dependingly on your build, yes it will. So long as your monk has 2APS and a decent base of crit chance, Quickening will fuel you all the spirit you need. At 2APS, i've calculated that 200 LpSS will generate between 6500-11k HP per 1-2 seconds.

What should be noted here is that the most efficient way to use LpSS IMO has always been to couple it with 2-3% of LS once you've reached sufficiently high DPS.

-What about the sacrifices in slots and DPS i make in order to use LPSS?

I've heard that argument a great many times as the fear of losing DPS is always omnipresent. The truth is, if you do it right the only thing you'll lose from focusing on LpSS is ONE weapon affix slot (since you'll need a weapon that has BOTH LpSS and LS as well as a socket and natural crit damage) and the capacity of using Mempo over Inna's and that's only in the case of focusing. I've seen a handfull of monks who were using lower amounts of LpSS as a complementary stat and who were absolutely in love with the extra burst heal sustain it provided.

-What MP can it handle ?