Diablo® III

the itemization problem and a proposed solution

I'm fairly new to Diablo 3, finished Inferno for the 1st time yesterday, but even so I've noticed the problem with items of which so many complain in the forum. Dont take me wrong for the rest of the post, I'm loving this game, but I do see how it could be better.

Basically everything I (and everyone else) get is worthless even selling; the blues I don't even look at the stats anymore, just salvage (and I imagine at some point I wont even pick); the yellows I can count on my fingers how many I used/sold, most are salvaged too; I still didnt find 20 legendaries in the whole story of my account, so I wont say anything about them "without data".

Thinking about this, I tried to figure out why is everything so bad. My first thought was the obvious "blizzard wants us to use the AH as much as possible", and it's possibly right, most my items I got looking for "underpriced" stuff at AH. But thinking a little harder I came up with another reason, might be right or not, I'm looking for opinions, and proposing a solution to the problem as I see it.

What happens with itemization in D3 is: there are too many "must-haves". Even before I reached 60 I felt it: all my barbarian's slots should have strenght, vitality and all resist, all possible slots should also have the maximum number of sockets, life steal/on hit, damage, movement speed, critical chance and critical damage; if I don't get all these things I die. Often. Period.

And having too many must-haves is bad because, if our items can have a limited number of affixes, what is left to choose? Take rings for example: put socket, critical chance, strenght, vitality, damage, all resist. Filled all 6 possible affixes, and didn't even ran out the must-haves list. You see what I mean? There's no space to choose something just because I like it, much less for trivialities. This makes the items that have that list of stats good, and everything else trash by definition.