Diablo® III

Monk experts, give advice please!

So I've got what I consider a pretty decent monk, but I've hit a serious wall on knowing what to upgrade. I know I still have a long way to go, but only have like 6 mil at the moment...where can I get the most improvement for reasonable cost and what should I focus on to get that DPS up without sacrificing survivability? Thanks in advance.
Reply Quote
First let me say I am no expert, that's why there's no guide under my name :) I presume you are looking to grow DPS for higher MPs? If so, as I looked at your toon I wondering if you find your sustain an issue, having only 400 LOH modest APS. That might then be more an issue for playing high MPs than your DPS. I guess your high HP makes up for it a lot?

What stands out in your monk is the somewhat lower total Dex. And it's largely due to the Blackthorne's you're using. Using rares there would can get you both high Dex and Vit (tho not as much HP as you're getting now). For your budget though, I don't think you can get dual resists.

If you do want more sustain, maybe your budget allows a 2H with LS, but given the natural crit in your GF, you may actually lose DPS. A lot of the real experts don't have time to hit new threads, so maybe also post on their threads? Guys like Piffle, Nameless, Druin. You can find their threads here
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/7415793376
Reply Quote
u can get a cheap skate boost (no need to buy anything new) by tweaking the skills u use

deadly reach (foresight) can give u an 18% DPS boost
way of hundred fists (blazing fists) can give u 15% IAS

use BOTH of those, u would quality for further 16% DPS boost by using Combo Strike (i would replace Resolve).

this is my build, not saying its for everyone, but can give u a 49% DPS boost PLUS the boost from 15% IAS. and that doesnt even factor in the debuff on enemies from MoC Overawe.