Diablo® III

Use of Professionals in Designing Game Economy?

90 Undead Monk
Hi all,

I was just curious to see if anyone had any insight in how Blizzard designs its in game economies for games like Diablo 3 (and WoW). I have no industry experience, but I would think that as complex as they can be, with currency sinks (repairs, crafting), inflation, price crashes, etc, that they would want to consider consulting or hiring economists and other related financial/market experts. Any thoughts on this?
Reply Quote
How do you know that they haven't already hired such experts?
Reply Quote
They have their own quants team.
Reply Quote
Bernanke is a lvl 60 WD...voodoo economics
Reply Quote
No doubt they would. Given their experience with WoW.
Reply Quote
Blizzard doesn't really create the in game economies. The users control it.
Reply Quote
first month I remember having 10-20 million = you were rich as hell

this suddenly went up to 250 mil

then 500

then 1 Billion

then XX Billion per Item started

Now were at the point where trillions of gold is being pumped into the game and not being able to leave, its just simply traded for / sold via rmah/ or 3rd party

There's only a few ways to permanently suck gold out the d3 economy, which is

Repairs

Crafting

Vendors

Account Bans

TL;DR ( No )
Edited by Rush#1195 on 2/20/2013 5:28 AM PST
Reply Quote
Hi all,

I was just curious to see if anyone had any insight in how Blizzard designs its in game economies for games like Diablo 3 (and WoW). I have no industry experience, but I would think that as complex as they can be, with currency sinks (repairs, crafting), inflation, price crashes, etc, that they would want to consider consulting or hiring economists and other related financial/market experts. Any thoughts on this?