Diablo® III

1.0.7a Low FPS

I started playing again when 1.0.7 went live. The game performance was far from great, but it was playable. Now that 1.0.7a is live my fps has been dropping down to single digits.

Does everyone experience that initial lag when creating a new game and casting spells for the first time? I encounter that same lag everytime I encounter a new enemy, enter a new zone, or a new elite w a different set of abilities. With 1.0.7 it was manageable, but now that 1.0.7a is live the problem has gotten much worse. Could something like SC2's unit preloader be added to help reduce this problem?

The performance gets better as I play but the fps still drops to a standstill when using seven sided strike on an elite pack for example.

I've been playing the game on and off since the release and it seems the game's performance changes w every patch.

I have reset the SMC, Ran the repair tool, Reset Game Folder & Files Permissions, Closed Background Applications, Repaired Disk Permissions and Repaired Disk, Deleted cache and agent.db files. This helped a little, instead of dropping to 3 fps, ill maybe drop to 5fps. Where I can kinda move when trying to fight that first elite pack as opposed to freezing up for a few seconds and dying. Anything else I can try?

Model Name: Mac Pro
Model Identifier: MacPro1,1
Processor Name: Dual-Core Intel Xeon
Processor Speed: 2.66 GHz
Number of Processors: 2
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Processor): 4 MB
Memory: 5 GB
Bus Speed: 1.33 GHz
Boot ROM Version: MP11.005C.B08
SMC Version (system): 1.7f10

Chipset Model: ATI Radeon HD 5770
Type: GPU
Bus: PCIe
Slot: Slot-1
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 1024 MB
Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
Device ID: 0x68b8
Revision ID: 0x0000
ROM Revision: 113-C0160C-155
EFI Driver Version: 01.00.436
Displays:
Cinema:
Display Type: LCD
Resolution: 1680 x 1050
Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
Display Serial Number: 2A61502BUFZ
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Rotation: Supported