Diablo® III

Alienware vs ASUS RoG vs Samsung 7 Gamer ???

I'm in the market to buy a new laptop. I'm a writer, and when I'm not writing I'm playing D3.
I will be primarily using the laptop as a desktop unless I'm traveling.

Any preferences out there on system. Specs? Etc.

I would like to stay under $2k so that probably rules out the Alienware.

Any advice from any pro techs or gamers out there would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
Reply Quote
i would suggest getting a desktop and then getting a samsung note 10.1 tablet. it lets you do your writing anywhere you want. then you have a full blown powerful desktop when you need it
Reply Quote
04/17/2013 06:31 PMPosted by drunkie
i would suggest getting a desktop and then getting a samsung note 10.1 tablet. it lets you do your writing anywhere you want. then you have a full blown powerful desktop when you need it

People who aren't "computer guys" buy gaming laptops. I'm a computer guy.
Reply Quote
Pay no attention to the kids giving you grief about asking about a gaming laptop. Yes you get more bang for your buck out of a custom build desktop gaming rig but when you're on a budget and need your gaming to be mobile you get the laptop. When these kids grow up and have to spend a few nights in a crappy little hotel room and their big bad gaming rig is back at home cause they can't pack it up and take it on the plane with them they'll understand.

I have a decent custom build too but i also understand the need for mobility

Alienware has become over priced crap since Dell took them over.

I'm very happy with my Asus Rog g53sx. It's a little heavier and bulkier than some of the others but it's got proper cooling. Consider a good headset. the built in speakers are lacking.

good luck with however you decide to go.
Edited by Lizard#1681 on 4/17/2013 6:56 PM PDT
Reply Quote