Diablo® III

[GUIDE] My 2H Combo Strike Guide (updated!)

The 2H Combo Strike Guide (updated 10/01/2013!!!)
Aka My love letter to Skorn

Disclaimer
While a combo strike build will work for either 2H or DW playstyle, this guide focuses on 2H simply because of my personal love for Skorn. You can certainly play this build as DW, but some of my gearing advice and offspec builds won't apply as well.

Philosophy & History

This build is for people who like the 2H playstyle and want to try out a spec that puts their dps and survivability well beyond their gear-range. I started my main monk out with a cookie cutter build. It worked fine, albeit a tad boring, but I got to the stage where I wanted to move beyond my mp7 farming. I thought I could do this with my decent resists, single lifesteal, 200k BoH buffed dps. I was wrong. Lots of death. Very frustrating transition beyond my usual mp level. I started playing around with a skorn in my cookie cutter builds and found it to be much more effective than my DW setup and let me move into mp9 with no problem. From there I played around with various active and passive skills until I came across the wonderful skill combo strike and my passion for skorn and 2H builds was only increased

Abbreviations used:

FoT:TC = Fists of Thunder: Thunderclap
    WOHF:BF = Way of the Hundred Fists: Blazing Fists
    DR:F = Deadly Reach: Foresight
    CD/CC/IAS = crit damage, crit chance, increased attack speed

Pros:

5% lifesteal on a budget – basically, if you want to go above mp8 without spending billions on your gear, you’ll need “dual lifesteal” – with this setup you get that all in one cute little package called Skorn.

High dps – The variability in dps stats for skorn is much smaller than compared to 2x 1H weapons. Additionally, a solid dps skorn is relatively easy to find on AH for a very low price compared to comparable 1H weapons.

Enough spirit generation to handle 3 second mantra refreshing -- ***with a little IAS (See below)