Diablo® III

Ruby vs Emerald

Hi I am new to playing WD and wondering whether d3rawr / d3up is a better reference to see if ruby or emerald is better on weapon (or in general).

If you may also elaborate on the reason(s) for picking either one, it will be really appreciated, thanks.
Reply Quote
View profile
either is a great reference to help you determine if a red or green gem is better for you.

d3up is probably easier as you can switch out the gem on your weap and compare when you click "simulate"

as to why and what...it really depends on your gear and type of weapon you have. For example for manajuma knives, a ruby will always be better...hugely better.

in your case, with your axe, you lose 3k dps going with a marq ruby so it looks like emerald is the way to go

If it was close between the green and red gem, i'd favor the red gem because the red gem is more consistent dmg and does not require CC to be activated
Reply Quote
Thanks for the advice, one other question, how close (how much % difference) would u start to favor red over green (even when red has lower dmg)?? Thanks.

So like me, I am losing 3000 dmg but compare to 119445, that's a 2.5% dmg lost, so then would u recommend me to use Msq ruby??
Edited by xAuCxKerigan#1541 on 6/18/2013 9:37 AM PDT
Reply Quote
Thanks for the advice, one other question, how close (how much % difference) would u start to favor red over green (even when red has lower dmg)?? Thanks.

So like me, I am losing 3000 dmg but compare to 119445, that's a 2.5% dmg lost, so then would u recommend me to use Msq ruby??

DPS is the DPS. If it says higher then it is higher.

Always go for the higher dps option, unless 5m unsocketing cost is an issue.

Let's say for comparable DPS, which one would you prefer?