Diablo® III

Fierce Loyalty Builds Anyone?

New WD here. Actually, I am a total noob. I had originally asked for some advice on these forums a while ago. Great advice, but I honestly cannot believe the prices for CC, CD, and IAS gear on the AH.

Because I absolutely refuse to pay real money for in-game gold and virtual items, this led me to try out a fierce loyalty build. After all, anything with "thorns" seemed to be going VERY cheap on the AH.

Honestly, this seems to be working rather well. I am having little to no problems at all on Act III MP 5 as a low level paragon. Best thing is that all my gear cost me less than 1.5 million in total -- (gloves were a drop).

My question is this: given that my gear is incredibly subpar and cheap, has anyone actually tried a fierce loyalty pet build with true elite gear in MP 8-10 and at higher paragon? To be honest, I think I could quite easily increase my damage to 120K+, my life to 55K+, and my thorns to 18K-20K+. Would that not be at least decent for higher MP?

Thoughts appreciated.

Best.
Reply Quote
i like your thinking. it's good to be visionary and think outside the box.
that said, there is a reason that thorns gear is so cheap.
it simply is not practical if you're playing to optimize your time spent and gear up for MP10.

the entire way of playing if you're trying to gear up / grind paragon levels is to get through a "run" as quickly as possible. you should be nearly one shotting normal mobs and finishing elites in 2 minutes (while maintaining enough EHP) max to get the best results. i just don't see thorns performing well enough to that.

though, i've never looked into a thorns build so i might be wrong ;)
Edited by Viss#1675 on 6/26/2013 6:36 PM PDT
Reply Quote
OP, I run a max-thorns build on MP10, so yes it is possible but gearing is very difficult. Thorns don't kill anything at high MP, it is Plague Bats that does all the killing. Thorns are only useful in keeping the pets an myself alive.