Diablo® III

Coming to a Wiz from DH.

I made a new wiz.
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/The47thSen-6728/hero/33464798

I'm not really sure what to do with her right now. It's my first time playing anything besides a DH so I'm feeling rather lost as to what's even possible with the class. I have read the build sticky but all the acronyms confuse me. SNS, CM, WW, Archon, etc. I didn't even know Archon was a skill until I made her. I'd thought Archon wizards were those using a full archon set or something.

Anyway as you may see, most of my equipment is crafted because I was exploring the idea of an all crafts character. Whatever isn't crafted was gifted from friends. I crafted a few wands and sources but they weren't particularly good. For the time being, I would like to stick to using crafted gear. I'm not sure about the weapons yet. I don't like HF rings so I'll be getting regular rings for her.

Could anyone provide any advice as to what kind of affixes I should be trying to get in my crafts or any particular plans to recommend? Some Gehennas pants or the Demon's Skin set maybe?

Wizard hat or helm?
Or maybe even this
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/artisan/blacksmith/recipe/guardians-watch
to go with this for the vit and regen bonus.
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/artisan/blacksmith/recipe/guardians-scabbard

Skills wise, I'm not even sure what's possible with crafted gear. I'm guessing a freeze-wiz is out of the question. I named her after an apprentice fire mage with the intention of building one, but hadn't realised the dearth of fire related spells in the class.
Reply Quote
- Diablo III
View profile
For now:

http://www.diablofans.com/topic/84199-guide-wizard-gear-guide/

Any lingo you don't understand, there's a link in there to a mini dictionary I created to help you out.

Read through it and get an idea. After that, ask away about gameplay mechanics and whatnot and you'll be on your way.